Are Chick-Fil-A Fries Vegan? Crispy Tender Snack to Crave In (2022) 

Chick-Fil-A is home to some of America’s favorite chicken sandwiches. No matter which location you visit, Chick-Fil-A is known for its long lines, fast service, and superior courtesy.

Like most fast-food joints, Chick-Fil-A primarily sells non-vegan foods like chicken sandwiches, nuggets, milkshakes, and meat-containing salads.

What about the fries, though? Are Chick-Fil-A fries vegan? 

Yes! All Chick-Fil-A fries are 100% vegan. They don’t contain any animal by-products like meat seasoning, dairy powder, or animal fats.

They’re made using a relatively simple, mostly-natural recipe, and all of their fries are cooked separately from the meat. This makes Chick-Fil-A fries some of the most vegan-friendly fries in the fast-food world! 

That’s a relief, isn’t it? 

It’s nice to know that there’s at least one fast-food restaurant that I can visit where they aren’t mixing hidden animal ingredients in with my fries. For example, McDonald’s fries are seasoned with meat-derived seasoning and cooked in the same oil that the meat is cooked in. 

Today, I’ll answer a few of the questions I’ve been getting about Chick-Fil-A fries and give you a brief rundown of all of the ingredients, so you can see for yourself! 

Are Chick-Fil-A Fries Cooked With Chicken? 

Are Chick-Fil-A Fries Cooked With Chicken

One of the biggest reasons why I try to avoid fast-food fries is that they’re often cooked in the same exact vats of oil as the restaurant’s meat is cooked in.

For example, they’ll drop a batch of fries in the same oil and frying basket that was just used to fry chicken nuggets a few minutes before. 

Thankfully, though, Chick-Fil-A fries are NOT cooked with any of the chicken they serve at the restaurant! Instead, Chick-Fil-A’s fries are cooked in a separate vat of oil that’s never used for meat. 

Chick-Fil-A fries all of its chicken in peanut oil, which is where the iconic flavor comes from. However, the fries are cooked in a separate vat of mixed vegetable oil. The oils are never mixed, so you never have to worry if your fries have come into contact with meat. 

Chick-Fil-A Fries Ingredients: Listed

I always like to provide you guys with a quick breakdown of all of the ingredients in these types of posts. That way, you can tell I’m not just making stuff up! I put a considerable amount of research into all of these foods, so you can eat your food with complete confidence. 

Here’s the shortlist, obtained directly from their website

Chick-Fil-A Fries Ingredients

1) Potatoes

Potatoes

Like most fries, potatoes are the primary ingredient used in Chick-Fil-A’s vegan-friendly Waffle Fries. Potatoes are always vegan, as they’re a vegetable. So you never have to worry about this one. 

2) Canola Oil

Canola Oil

Chick-Fil-A’s Waffle Fries are made with a bit of canola oil, which is the primary oil used to fry them. Canola oil is a sustainable cooking oil that’s extracted from the seeds of small yellow flowers. 

3) Mixed Vegetable Oils

In addition to canola oil, Chick-Fil-A fries are deep-fried in a mixture of several different vegetable oils, including canola, palm, and soybean oil. Palm oil is the only questionable ingredient used in Chick-Fil-A fries, due to it contributing to deforestation. 

However, keep in mind that it’s not pure palm oil; it’s just a mixture of different oils. 

If the palm oil is a problem, here’s a quick recipe for how to make your own waffle fries at home: 

4) Salt

All Chick-Fil-A fries are lightly salted unless you request otherwise. 

5) Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate

This chemical is added to the pre-cut fries before they’re frozen. It’s a vegan animal-free chemical that’s designed to help the fries maintain their natural coloring. 

6) Dextrose

Dextrose

Last but not least, a bit of dextrose is added to give the fries a slightly sweet aftertaste and a crispy outer shell. This is a completely vegan carbohydrate that’s obtained from vegetables like potatoes and corn. 

The Verdict – Are Chick-Fil-A Fries Vegan-Friendly? 

Are Chick-Fil-A Fries Vegan-Friendly

Compared to most other fast-food joints, Chick-Fil-A fries are some of the most vegan-friendly fries in the world! Other than the small amount of palm oil that might be included in the cooking oil, they’re 100% vegan. 

Before you dip your fries in ketchup, be sure to read my post answering whether or not ketchup is vegan

Photo of author
Author Bio
Im Emma and I’m the creator of Vegan Calm. When I became a vegan seven years ago, I mainly did it for health and ethical reasons. To my surprise, it had another amazing benefit; I became a much calmer and peaceful person. This change inspired me to create Vegan Calm. Whether you’ve been a vegan for a long time or just want to learn more, this website will have something for you.

Check Out These Posts:

Best Vegan Cookbooks For Beginners
Is Olivia Rodrigo Vegan
Best Vegan Skincare Brands