Are Clif Builders Bars Vegan? It’s Complicated

When you think about a snack that is equally delicious and energizing, your mind probably conjures up an image of the classic Clif bar. But, have you ever wondered are Clif Builders bars vegan? 

You can find these energy bars in a variety of mouthwatering flavors in almost every supermarket. Over the past years, the famous brand has also made some changes to the packaging of its bars and introduced new product lines.

However, as the vegan lifestyle continues to gain popularity, there is a good chance that some of you may want to find out if these precious bars contain any animal-based ingredients. To help you out, I have put together a detailed guide that answers all of your pressing questions and more.

Without further ado, let’s begin.

Are Clif Builders Bars Vegan?

Fortunately, yes. You will be glad to know that Clif Builders bars are 100% vegan.

Are Clif Builders Bars vegan-friendly

Clif Builders Protein Bars vs. Clif Bars

Many confuse the Clif Builders protein bars with the traditional Clif bars. Though both products belong to the same brand, the one with the word “Builders” on the label contains a higher amount of proteins and fibers.

Though it is not exactly healthy (more on that later), the Builders variety is marketed as a portable, high-energy bar with plant-based proteins. So, if you are planning to build muscles and are looking for a delicious and vegan pre-workout protein bar, you may want to give Clif Builders bars a try.

Clif Builders protein bars

Clif Builders Bars Flavors

Much like the traditional bars, the Clif Builders product lines also feature a range of exciting flavors.

You can find these protein-rich bars in seven different varieties:

  • Chocolate
  • Chocolate Mint
  • Vanilla Almond
  • Cinnamon Nut Swirl
  • Crunchy Peanut Butter
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Cookies N Cream

All of these flavors are considered vegan-friendly. However, they include a certain ingredient that is highly debated in the vegan community, which takes us to our next point.

Are Clif Builders bars healthy

Clif Builders Bars Ingredients

According to the official Clif Bars website, almost all of their products contain plant-based ingredients. Therefore, they serve as a perfect snack for those who have adopted a vegan lifestyle or are aspiring to do so.  

However, since we are talking about Clif Builders bars, in particular, let’s take a look at their contents:

While this list of ingredients is for the Clif Builders Chocolate bar, please note that all flavors in this product line contain palm kernel oil.  In other words, they are not the most ethically sourced or eco-friendly protein bars you may find on a supermarket shelf.

To clarify, palm kernel oil and palm oil are not entirely the same. While palm kernel oil comes from the palm seed, palm oil is a by-product of the palm fruit.

For those who may be unaware, palm oil usage is a contentious issue within the vegan community due to its environmental implications. You can find out more about this matter in my article Are M&M’s Vegan.

Note: The entire range of Clif Fruit Smoothie Bars and Clif Nut Filled Bars also feature palm oil as an ingredient.

Clif Builders Chocolate bar

Clif Builders Bars Nutrition

Want to learn more about the number of calories in Clif Builders bars? Here’s a chart that will help you out:

As you can see, each Clif Builders protein bar contains 280 calories and 20 grams of proteins. It also comprises 31 grams of carbohydrates, 17 grams of sugar, and 9 grams of fat.  

Clif Builders bars nutrition

Are Clif Builders Bars Healthy?

Owing to their added sugar content, some may find Clif Builders bars extremely sweet. In addition, they are not an ideal snack for those trying to reduce weight. However, they may be a good option for athletes who are constantly working out to stay fit and healthy.

Important: Consuming a large amount of sugar can be bad for your health. The side effects may include weight gain, Type 2 diabetes, acne, fatty liver, and depression.

It is also worth mentioning that some Clif bars may contain allergens, such as peanuts and soy, among others.  The non-vegan variety also contains milk.

Which Clif Bars Are Not Vegan?

Here are the two types of Clif bars that contain animal-based ingredients:

Clif Whey Protein Bar: Since whey is a by-product of cheese-making, it is not vegan.

Clif Bar Peanut Butter & Honey w/ Sea Salt: This traditional Clif bar may be delicious, but it contains honey, which makes it unsuitable for those following a plant-based diet.

Clif Builders bars flavors

Frequently Asked Questions

▪ Do Clif Builders bars make you gain weight?

Clif Builders bars contain a high amount of sugar and carbohydrates. While they will certainly fill you with energy, eating them too often may result in weight gain.

Since this product is meant for athletes and those who work out regularly, you may need to partake in some physical exercise after consuming this bar.

▪ Are chocolate chip Clif bars good for weight loss?

Well, the chocolate chip Clif bars contains 240 calories per serving. Unless you regularly work out or participate in any other physical exercise, these bars won’t help your weight loss journey.

Clif Builders bars ingredients

▪ Are Clif bars good meal replacements?

Clif bars may be a good source of protein and fibers, but you must not treat them as meal replacements. While eating these pre-workout snacks once in a while may not be harmful, munching on them every day may result in different health problems.

▪ Are Clif Bars good for pre-workout?

Yes, Clif bars serve as an excellent pre-workout snack. According to the brand, it is best to consume this bar an hour or two before your workout.

Clif Builders bars mini

Conclusion: Are Clif Builders Bars Vegan?

The Clif Builders product line doesn’t seem to include any ingredient derived from animals. Hence these protein bars are suitable for vegans.  The brand has also replaced several commonly used non-vegan ingredients with their vegan-friendly counterparts.

Furthermore, if you identify as vegan, you can also try Clif Builders Bars Mini.

Nevertheless, it is pertinent to note that all of its flavors contain palm kernel oil. So, if you do not support palm oil consumption, you may want to look for a Clif Builders bar alternative.  

Did you find this article helpful? Are you interested in finding out about different vegan snacks available in the market? If so, please check out my article Is Extra Gum Vegan to learn more about this sweet treat and if it includes any vegan-friendly ingredients.

Photo of author
Author Bio
Im Emma and I’m the creator of Vegan Calm. When I became a vegan seven years ago, I mainly did it for health and ethical reasons. To my surprise, it had another amazing benefit; I became a much calmer and peaceful person. This change inspired me to create Vegan Calm. Whether you’ve been a vegan for a long time or just want to learn more, this website will have something for you!

Check Out These Posts:

Are Glazed Donuts Vegan
Are Mission Flour Tortillas Vegan
Are Fruit Snacks Vegan