Are Mott’s Gummies Vegan? Guilt-free Snack You’ll Love 2022

Just about every kid I know loves fruit snacks. They’re chewy, fruity, and the perfect blend between sweet and healthy. That being said, gummies have a bit of a bad rep in the vegan community, as the majority of gummies contain gelatin, pork, or beef-derived fatty compound. 

If you’re reading this post right now, you’re probably wondering, “Are Mott’s Gummies vegan?” 

Unlike other brands of gummies, Mott’s Fruit Snacks are vegan and made with plant-based ingredients. They’re 100% gelatin-free and cruelty-free. That being said, Mott’s gummies do contain white sugar, which some vegans disagree with for ethical reasons. 

Below, I’ll show you exactly what Mott’s Fruit Snacks are made of, so you can decide whether or not Mott’s gummies are for you and your family! 

Are Mott’s Fruit Snacks Vegan-Friendly? 

Are Mott’s Fruit Snacks Vegan-Friendly

If you look at the main ingredients of most of the leading brands of fruit snacks, you’ll see copious amounts of artificial ingredients.

Many of the so-called “healthy” snacks are packed full of artificial preservatives, artificial chemical coloring, and high-fructose corn syrup. Many also contain animal-derived gelatin, which is a big no-no for vegans. 

Mott’s Fruit Snacks, on the other hand, are completely vegan-friendly. They’re gelatin-free, don’t have any artificial colors, and are relatively low in sugar compared to other brands of sugary gummies. 

Most people know Mott’s for their line of all-natural fruit juice and applesauce. However, their gummies have grown into one of the most popular choices for families and children alike.

They contain real fruit juice and have always been marketed as a healthier choice than gummy bears and other more sugary fruit snacks. 

Do Mott’s Gummies Contain Gelatin? 

Gelatin is one of the most common food additives in the world. It’s added to a number of everyday foods, such as marshmallows and even Pop-Tarts. It’s obtained by boiling down animal remains until they’re soft enough to secrete a fatty substance called gelatin. 

This gelatin works as an emulsifier and a filler, enlarging foods and giving them a soft, chewy texture. In fact, gelatin is one of the main ingredients in gummy worms, which is why they’re known for being so chewy! 

Thankfully, Mott’s Fruit Snacks are gelatin-free, so you don’t have to worry about any animal by-products being used in them. This means that Mott’s gummies are suitable for both vegans and vegetarians! 

What Are Mott’s Gummies Made Of? Ingredients Listed

What Are Mott’s Gummies Made Of

It’s easy for me to tell you that Mott’s Gummies are a bit healthier than your average gummy bear… However, it’s another thing for you to believe. So, in the spirit of transparency, here’s a full list of all of the ingredients used in Mott’s Assorted Fruit Fruit Snacks: 

Mott’s Assorted Fruit Fruit Snacks

Most of the ingredients are plant-based and easy to understand. However, for those who are interested in learning a bit more about these delicious fruit snacks, here’s a full breakdown of all of the ingredients, so you can understand exactly what you’re eating! 

1) Corn Syrup

Corn Syrup

Corn syrup is one of the most commonly used ingredients in candy and snacks. It’s a sweet, plant-based syrup that’s extracted from the sugary sweet corn plant, which grows all over the US.

Corn syrup is 100% vegan-friendly as it’s plant-based and never uses any animal by-products in its refining process. 

Corn syrup is mostly transparent. When used as the main ingredient, this is what makes Mott’s Gummies somewhat see-through

2) Sugar

Sugar

Next up, we have sugar (specifically, refined white sugar). Since corn syrup isn’t super-sweet on its own, it’s often mixed with white sugar to give it a sweeter, more concentrated flavor.

If you look at the ingredients of many types of gummy candy, you’ll see that these are almost always the top two ingredients. 

There’s just one problem: many vegans don’t agree with white sugar

Although white sugar is technically a plant-based sweetener that comes from the sugarcane plant, it goes through a not-so-vegan refining process.

To turn the raw organic cane sugar into concentrated white sugar, the larger brown-colored crystals must be filtered through animal bone char. Unfortunately, this bone char comes straight from the slaughterhouse. 

That being said, none of the bone char actually ends up in the final product. 

However, many vegans are still against the fact that it’s used at all and abstain from white sugar for ethical reasons. I’ll leave it up to you to decide whether this is a dealbreaker or not. 

3) Modified Corn Starch

Corn Starch

Corn starch is a simple starch that’s extracted from corn meal. This super-fine powder acts as a thickening agent and helps bind the sugar and juice together to form gummies.

It also helps keep the gummies dry and moisture-free, so they don’t start sticking to each other while they’re still in the package! 

Corn starch isn’t the healthiest ingredient (as it’s just pure empty carbs). However, it is vegan-friendly, so there’s nothing to worry about here. 

4) Concentrated Fruit Juice

Concentrated Fruit Juice

One of my favorite things about Mott’s Fruit Snacks is that they’re made with real fruit juice. Unlike other types of gummies, which are usually artificially flavored, these gummies are made with concentrated juice extract from pears, apples, carrots, and strawberries.

All of this fruit juice is 100% plant-based and ethical, so it’s the perfect vegan-friendly flavoring. It’s also why Mott’s Fruit Snacks are a good source of natural plant-based vitamins! 

5) Fruit Pectin

Fruit Pectin

Fruit pectin is a type of chewy, fatty substance that’s made from the pulp of fruits and vegetables. It’s a common ingredient used to make jelly and is why jelly often has a somewhat gelatinous texture (even though it’s usually gelatin-free). 

When it comes to vegan food, fruit pectin is often used as an all-natural substitute for gelatin. Although it’s not quite as thick and chewy, it still provides a similar texture that adds to the experience of the gummies. 

6) Citric Acid

Citric Acid

Citric acid is a plant-derived acid that’s found in citrus plants. Today, most of the citric acid used in food is created in a lab (as it’s a relatively simple acid to synthesize). However, both forms of citric acid are 100% vegan. 

Citric acid serves as both a flavor additive (providing a citrusy taste) and as a natural preservative (by making the food more acidic and less hospitable to bacteria). 

7) Ascorbic Acid

Ascorbic Acid

Ascorbic acid is the chemical term for lab-synthesized vitamin C. This is added to make the gummies even healthier and to boost the vitamin C content of Mott’s Fruit Snacks. Vitamin C is an essential vitamin that can boost your immunity and increase your energy levels. 

8) Dextrose

Dextrose

Dextrose is a simple starch that typically comes from rice, corn, or potatoes. It serves as an all-in-one additive that provides mild sweetness, helps to preserve the food, and acts as a drying agent. 

9) Sodium Citrate

Sodium citrate is a type of salt that’s derived from citric acid. This is typically added as a preservative. Although it is modified, it’s still vegan and ultimately comes from a plant-based source. 

10) Malic Acid

Malic acid is a sour yet slightly bitter-tasting acid that’s derived from the skin of certain fruits, such as apples and grapes. The reason why wine has a slightly sour flavor to it is due to the malic acid present in the grape skins. 

Malic acid is used in these gummy bears to provide a more natural, fruit taste and consistency. 

11) Potassium Citrate

Potassium citrate is a form of potassium that comes from citric acid. It’s vegan-friendly and is a healthy supplement for your body. 

12) Sunflower Oil

Sunflower Creamer

Most gummies contain some form of vegetable oil. I appreciate that Mott’s Fruit Snacks uses sustainably-sourced sunflower oil instead of less-sustainable oils like palm oil! 

13) Natural Colors

natural plant based color

Mott’s gummies don’t contain any artificial colors. Instead, they use naturally-derived colors from fruit juice. While Mott’s gummies might not be quite as bright or shiny as other fruit snacks, they’re far more natural and healthier. 

14) Carnauba Wax

Carnauba Wax

Carnauba wax is a natural plant-based wax secreted from palm trees. Small amounts are often added to food to improve the texture and preserve the food.

Each Mott’s gummy is coated with a thin layer of carnauba wax to lock out moisture and prevent the gummies from melting into each other! 

The Verdict – Are Mott’s Gummies Vegan? 

Are Mott’s Gummies Vegan

Mott’s Fruit Snacks are vegan-friendly! Although they contain a small amount of white sugar (which many vegans don’t agree with), all of the ingredients are plant-based or are natural preservatives that are derived from plants. 

To learn more about what makes Mott’s Fruit Snacks different from other gummies, it helps to have a wider perspective. Keep on reading to compare the ingredients in Mott’s Fruit Snacks to the ingredients in most types of gummy bears

Photo of author
Author Bio
Im Emma and I’m the creator of Vegan Calm. When I became a vegan seven years ago, I mainly did it for health and ethical reasons. To my surprise, it had another amazing benefit; I became a much calmer and peaceful person. This change inspired me to create Vegan Calm. Whether you’ve been a vegan for a long time or just want to learn more, this website will have something for you.

Check Out These Posts:

Best Vegan Perfume Brands
Best Vegan Pie Crust Brands
Best Vegan Frozen Meals Brands