Are Pringles Vegan 2021? Find Out Here

Pringles take the crown for being one of the crispiest and crunchiest chips in the world. You can find this delicious snack in a variety of delicious flavor combinations, making it almost impossible to stop once you pop open the tubular container. But are Pringles vegan?

Whether you have recently adopted a vegan lifestyle or aspire to do so in the near future, it is important to find out if your favorite snack fulfills the requirements of a plant-based diet. In addition, you must carefully check the product label to ensure the manufacturer hasn’t changed the recipe.  

Pringles is one such brand. Over the past few years, the company has made quite a few changes to its products. While a few of those changes have been good for its dedicated customers, the others may have disappointed some.

Currently, Pringles offers more than 25 flavor profiles in the United States. Since checking each of them for vegan-friendly ingredients can be a little tiresome for many, I decided to dive a little deeper and round up all the Pringles flavors that are vegan-friendly.

So, what are you waiting for? Let’s get started!

Are Pringles Vegan?

The answer to this question is both yes and no.

Simply put, some varieties of Pringles flavors appear vegan while others contain animal-based products that are not suitable for those following a plant-based diet.

It is also worth mentioning that some popular flavors that many considered vegan now include non-vegan ingredients (more on that later!).

Some flavors of Pringle are considered to be vegan-friendly

Are Pringles Vegetarian?

Fortunately, most Pringles flavors are vegetarian-friendly.

The list of basic ingredients for this mouthwatering snack includes:

  • Dried potato
  • Vegetable oil
  • Salt
  • Wheat starch

Important: Pringles does not label most of its products as “vegan” or “vegetarian.” Instead, the brand encourages its consumers to check the label to figure out if they should consume it.

Which Pringles Flavors Are Vegan?

Here is the list of Pringles flavors that appear to be vegan-friendly.

  • Pringles Original
  • Pringles Reduced Fat Original
  • Pringles Lightly Salted Original
  • Pringles Wavy Classic Salted

Let’s look at the individual recipes of these vegan Pringles flavors to find out more about them.

Ingredients of Pringles Original

Despite launching dozens of interesting flavors and limited edition combinations, the brand still considers Pringles Original as its most successful product – and rightfully so!

Here’s what goes into making the crispy potato chips.

Ingredients of Pringles Reduced Fat Original

A part of the brand’s “Lighter Side” series of products, Pringles Reduced Fat Original also appears to have a plant-based list of ingredients. So, these chips are not only healthier than most of their counterparts but are also suitable for vegans.

Here is the official recipe for this product.

Ingredients of Pringles Lightly Salted Original

If you love Pringles but find the Original flavor a bit too salty, you must consider checking out the Lightly Salted Original flavor.

So, what goes into making these tasty chips? Let’s find out.

Ingredients of Pringles Wavy Classic Salted

Though Pringles offers a wide range of Wavy chips, its Classic Salted flavor appears to be the only vegan option on the list. It has the flavor profile of the Original snack with a unique texture that makes it hard to resist.

These are the ingredients of Pringles Wavy Classic Salted.

As many of you may have noticed, the only suspicious components in these recipes are mono- and diglycerides. A common additive in foods, mono- and diglycerides are emulsifiers that keep water and oil from separating in packaged and frozen items.

One can derive these additives from both plants and animals. Therefore, we can’t be 100% certain if these emulsifiers are vegan and vegetarian-friendly.

Note: It is worth pointing out that Pringles do not seem to use palm oil in its products.

Though it is a plant-based product, palm oil is highly contentious among the vegan community due to its environmental impact. You can find out more about the topic in my post: Are M&M’s Vegan.

Which Pringles Flavors Are Non-Vegan?

Most Pringles flavors contain animal-derived products

Alt-text: Most Pringles flavors contain animal-derived products

Now that we know about the vegan-friendly options, it’s time to discuss some of the most revered non-vegan Pringles flavors gracing the shelves of your favorite grocery store.

To help you out, I have also mentioned the exact ingredients that make the snack unsuitable for those practicing a vegan lifestyle.

Pringles BBQ: Whey

Pringles Buffalo Ranch: Whey and milk

Pringles Cheddar Cheese: Whey, cheese, and butter

Pringles Cheddar & Sour Cream: Whey, cheese, and milk 

Pringles Extra Hot: Whey

Pringles Honey Mustard: Honey

Pringles Jalapeno: Whey

Pringles Pizza: Whey, cheese, and milk

Pringles Parmesan & Roasted Garlic: Whey and cheese

Pringles Rotisserie Chicken: Buttermilk

Pringles Ranch: Whey, sour cream, and milk

Pringles Salt & Vinegar: Lactose

Pringles Screamin’ Dill Pickle: Whey

Pringles Sour Cream & Onion: Whey, sour cream, milk

Frequently Asked Questions

▪ Can vegans eat Pringles?

The ingredients listed on the official Pringles website indicate that some popular snack flavors are vegan-friendly. However, please make sure to analyze the label before making any purchases.

▪ Are Pringles Sour Cream and Onion vegan?

Unfortunately, Pringles Sour Cream and Onion is not vegan friendly.

▪ Are Pringles BBQ vegan?

No, the Pringles BBQ flavor is not vegan as it contains whey.

For the uninitiated, whey is a dairy product that is classified as a byproduct of cheese. Since vegans do not consume animal-derived products, whey is not a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Conclusion – Are Pringles Vegan-Friendly?

After going through all the Pringle flavors, one can deduce that only a handful of these famous products appear to be vegan. The list of vegan Pringles flavors includes Original, Reduced Fat Original, Lightly Salted Original, and Wavy Classic Salted.

So, if you love any of the other popular Pringles flavors, you may want to look for its healthy vegan alternatives.

Did you find this article helpful? If you are interested in learning more about vegan chips, please check out my article Are Lays Chips Vegan. It will tell you everything you must know about the ingredients of this savory snack and whether you should be munching on it.

Photo of author
Author Bio
Im Emma and I’m the creator of Vegan Calm. When I became a vegan seven years ago, I mainly did it for health and ethical reasons. To my surprise, it had another amazing benefit; I became a much calmer and peaceful person. This change inspired me to create Vegan Calm. Whether you’ve been a vegan for a long time or just want to learn more, this website will have something for you.

Check Out These Posts:

Denny’s Vegan Options
Buffalo Wild Wings Vegan Menu
Applebee’s Vegan Options