Are Triscuits Vegan? Will It Be Your New Favorite In 2022?

Triscuits are some of the most popular crackers on the market.

They’re known for containing tons of whole grains and for their use of all-natural ingredients, instead of the processed chemicals and additives, you’ll find in other popular brands of crackers. However, “all-natural” doesn’t always mean vegan… 

So, are Triscuits vegan? 

It depends. Some Triscuits flavors are 100% vegan and made completely from plant-based ingredients. However, other flavors of Triscuits contain dairy by-products, such as milk powder, cheese, sugar, and other not-so-vegan additives. 

Your best bet is to go with the Original Triscuits, which are made with three simple ingredients: whole grain wheat, canola oil, and sea salt

Below, I’ll show you some of the most common non-vegan ingredients that you need to look out for and give you a list of all of Trisctuit’s vegan flavors! 

What Flavors of Triscuits Are Vegan? 

What Flavors of Triscuits Are Vegan

Triscuits first hit store shelves in 1902 and were manufactured by The Shredded Wheat Company in New York.

At the time, they were a revolutionary new product. that quickly gained traction as a wholesome, delicious, and affordable snack. Today, Triscuits are available in fourteen different varieties

Most of them are 100% vegan-friendly and are made entirely of plant-based ingredients and natural seasonings. However, there are also several non-vegan flavors and varieties that you need to look out for as well, 

Here’s a quick table outlining the non-vegan and vegan flavors of Triscuits: 

Vegan Triscuits FlavorsNon-Vegan Triscuits Flavors
Avocado, Cilantro, & LimeSmoked Gouda
Rosemary & Olive OilFour Cheese & Herb
Fire Roasted Tomato & Olive Oil
Roasted Garlic
Dill, Sea Salt, & Olive Oil
Original (with Sea Salt)
Balsamic Vinegar & Basil
Cracked Pepper & Olive Oil
A hint of Sea Salt

As you can see, there are lots of vegan-friendly options when it comes to Triscuits! As long as you watch out for the cheese flavors, you’ll be good. 

Triscuits are also available in the Thin Crisps variety. These thinner, crispier, crackers use the same main ingredients as the original flavors. They’re just condensed into a smaller, easier-to-chew cracker. 

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Triscuits

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Triscuits

The majority of Triscuit flavors are made with the same simple ingredients, plus a few added spices, olive oil, and seasonings. The few non-vegan flavors all contain cheese and other dairy products. 

While cheese is vegetarian, it’s not vegan. Vegetarians believe that the consumption of animal by-products like milk, cheese, yogurt, and honey is ethical. Conversely, vegans don’t believe in consuming any animal by-products whatsoever (even those made by exploited insects). 

With that in mind, here’s a complete list of all of the non-vegan ingredients you should be on the lookout for in Triscuits (and any other cracker brands you might be looking at): 

  • Cheese Powder
  • Whey or Whey Protein
  • Milk or Nonfat Milk
  • Buttermilk
  • Refined Sugar

Whey and dairy products are very popular when it comes to crackers and chips. For example, Cheez-Its feature cheese as the main ingredient. Even certain brands of tortilla chips use whey powder to create a smoother texture or help other flavors bind to the chips. 

This is why it’s always important to read your ingredients labels! You never know what unexpected animal ingredients could be lurking where you least expect them. 

What Are Triscuits Made Of?

What Are Triscuits Made Of

Thankfully, we can all rely on the Original Triscuits. As far as crackers go, Triscuits are easily one of the most all-natural vegan-friendly snacks that I’ve ever seen. Believe it or not, these crackers contain fewer ingredients than most bread (which is supposed to be as simple as it gets). 

Here’s the complete ingredients list for the Original Triscuits: 

ingredients list for the Original Triscuits

That’s right – there are just three simple, all-natural ingredients! I honestly can’t remember the last time that I purchased a packaged product that only had three ingredients. There aren’t even any preservatives. 

Another cool thing is that Triscuits are made with shredded whole grain wheat. Most crackers are made with wheat flour, which is more processed and not quite as nutritious. 

Whole wheat contains a higher concentration of protein and fiber, making Triscuits more filling and nutritious than almost any other brand of crackers on the market! 

To learn more about the difference between processed and unprocessed wheat, watch this brief visual:

What Are Triscuits Smoked Gouda Crackers Made Of? Ingredients Analyzed

While the Original Triscuits are as simple as it gets, some of the cheese-flavored Triscuits aren’t quite as simple. Here’s a quick look at the ingredients in one of Triscuits best-selling flavors, Smoked Gouda

ingredients of Smoked Gouda

As you can see, there are a lot more than three simple ingredients. Admittedly, I will say that all of the ingredients are still all-natural. There aren’t any “trash” ingredients or artificial preservatives and flavors. 

However, this flavor of Triscuits still contains copious amounts of cheese. Sadly, the cheese and dairy industry is very cruel and is a massive source of pain for cows around the world. 

No matter how innocent dairy packages may appear to be, with their “happy” cows wandering around a large green field, this simply isn’t reality.

The majority of milk-producing cows spend their lives being forcibly impregnated, tied down, and milked for every ounce they can produce. 

When they become stressed and milk production decreases, they’re written off and slaughtered for meat. 

Now that you know a little bit more about why the cheese in Triscuits is so problematic, let’s take a closer look at the ingredients list… 

1) Whole Grain Wheat

Whole Grain Wheat

The main ingredient in all flavors of Triscuits is whole grain shredded wheat. Unlike flour, which has been processed and pulverized into a fine powder, whole grain shredded wheat is raw, natural, and has yet to go through the mechanical pulverizing process. 

This means that it’s packed full of its maximum nutritional value! Whole grain wheat is not only healthy but is also 100% vegan. 

2) Canola Oil

Canola Oil

All Triscuits are made with a bit of canola oil. This sustainably-sourced cooking oil is obtained by pressing canola flower seeds and is entirely vegan. 

3) Sea Salt

Sea Salt

Even these non-vegan Triscuits are still seasoned with Triscuits’ signature sea salt. Sea salt is always vegan and comes from natural oceanic salt deposits. 

4) Buttermilk

Buttermilk

Buttermilk is the first problematic ingredient. It’s a direct milk product that’s made by introducing cultures to milk. These bacterial cultures are safe to consume but give the resulting milk a sour flavor. This is why buttermilk is commonly used on chips and crackers. 

5) Rice Starch

Rice Starch

Rice starch is an all-natural starch that’s derived from rice. Whenever rice is soaked in water, the starch naturally separates from the grain. This fine powder is later isolated and used for baking.

In Triscuits, the rice starch acts as a drying agent and helps the seasonings bind to the surface of the crackers. 

6) Natural Flavors

Natural & Artificial Flavors

The primary natural flavor is “natural smoke flavor,” which is where the crackers get that smoky BBQ aroma from. It seems as if there are multiple natural flavors in these crackers, but Triscuits is not required to reveal those, as they’re trade secrets. 

7) Sugar

Sugar

A bit of sugar is also added to these crackers. Refined sugar is often a problematic ingredient for vegans due to the way it’s processed. 

To turn all-natural (and vegan) cane sugar into refined white sugar, the cane sugar must pass through a bone char filter that contains the fire-charred remains of cattle and pigs. This removes the outer coating of malt flavor on the sugar, leaving behind the pure white sugar crystals. 

Sadly, this process is one of the driving factors behind vegans giving up refined sugars. 

8) Cheddar Cheese Powder

Cheddar Cheese Powder

Cheddar cheese powder is made by combining cultured milk with salt and natural enzymes, which break down the proteins in the milk and create cheese. This dried powder is then seasoned over the crackers. 

9) Gouda Cheese Powder

Gouda cheese powder is made using the same process as cheddar cheese powder. It’s just made with a different milk culture, which produces a slightly different flavor. 

10) Nonfat Milk

Milk

Nonfat milk is presumably used as a medium to mix the powdered cheese seasonings together before they’re scattered over the crackers. Nonetheless, it’s still non-vegan! 

11) Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Olive Oil

Extra virgin olive oil is the highest-quality olive oil that you can get. It’s 100% natural, vegan, and comes from olives. It’s actually quite healthy in small doses! 

12) Malted Barley Flour

Malted Barley Flour

I’m not sure why malted barley flour is added to this flavor of Triscuits. However, I presume that it makes for a richer, more wholesome flavor and provides added depth to the smoky cheese notes. 

The Verdict – Are Triscuits Crackers Vegan? 

Are Triscuits Crackers Vegan

The good news is that most flavors of Triscuits are 100% vegan! Additionally, most of them are made with simple, wholesome, all-natural ingredients, so you don’t have to worry about putting a bunch of junk in your system.

Just be sure to watch out for the Smoked Gouda and Four Cheese & Herb flavors, as those contain dairy and cheese. 

If you’re looking for some delicious vegan cheese to dip your vegan Triscuits in, then be sure to check out my list of the best vegan cheese brands next

Photo of author
Author Bio
Im Emma and I’m the creator of Vegan Calm. When I became a vegan seven years ago, I mainly did it for health and ethical reasons. To my surprise, it had another amazing benefit; I became a much calmer and peaceful person. This change inspired me to create Vegan Calm. Whether you’ve been a vegan for a long time or just want to learn more, this website will have something for you.

Check Out These Posts:

Best Vegan Stuffing Brands
Best Vegan Mac and Cheese Brands
Best Vegan Whipped Cream Brands