Domino’s Vegan Options: How Many Are There?

 Domino’s, the world’s highest-grossing pizza chain and a pioneer of fast pizza delivery, is the go-to place for a huge majority of Americans to get their cheesy fix and midnight pizza cravings satisfied. But, is it the same for vegans?  Does Domino’s have vegan options?

This is exactly what we’re going to delve into today.

Let’s dig a little deeper into Domino’s menu and find out if there is anything for vegans at Domino’s.

Domino’s Vegan Options – Is There Anything Vegan at Domino’s?

Domino’s isn’t considered an ideal place for vegans. And rightly so! The restaurant doesn’t have any vegan options listed on its menu. Also, despite huge demand and PETA’s campaign asking Domino’s to add vegan options in its menu, the company has displayed reluctance to do it.

In 2015, the pizza company’s shareholders rejected the proposal to add vegan meat substitutes and vegan cheese into Domino’s menu, during their annual meeting. Less than 0.28% of votes were in favor of the vegan toppings proposal.

Domino’s vice president of communications, Tim McIntyre, went so far ahead to (sort of) criticize PETA on putting forward the resolution.

We believe we know more about testing and rolling out products for our brand than PETA does, and we know how to run our business better than PETA does,” he said while talking to the Huffington Post.

He also said that Domino’s customers do not seem to want vegan options.  

Well, it may be true in 2015, but things have changed significantly in the vegan world since then. With the recent surge in demand for vegan options at restaurants, many fast food companies have revised their menus and incorporated meatless and dairy-free options for their vegan customers. And people (pizza-loving vegans) expected Domino’s to follow the route.

A few years later, it seemed Domino’s finally decided to pay heed to its customers’ demands (don’t get your hopes high yet though).

In January 2020, Domino’s CEO Richard Allison told Yahoo Finance that they were testing plant-based options internally. However, there’s no guarantee they will make it to the restaurant’s menu. Here’s what Allison said:

What Can Vegans Eat at Domino’s, then?

Although there isn’t anything vegan on Domino’s menu as yet, you can get yourself some vegan-friendly food with a few modifications. The Domino’s menu items that can be made vegan include:

  • Garden Salad
  • Chicken Apple Pecan Salad
  • Penne Pasta
  • Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich
  • Make-Your-Own Pizza

There are also some vegan dipping sauces and drinks available to make your Domino’s vegan meal a little more flavorful and interesting.

Keep reading to learn how to go about ordering these food items vegan at Domino’s as well as to get answers to any queries and concerns you may have regarding Domino’s vegan options.

How to Order Vegan at Domino’s?

Here’s how you can get the following items customized to get vegan food at Domino’s:

§ Garden Salad

Vegan Garden Salad at Domino’s

Domino’s Garden Salad originally consists of iceberg and romaine lettuce, red cabbage, red onions, carrots, grape tomatoes, brioche garlic croutons, and cheddar cheese. Ask to hold the cheese and croutons while ordering to enjoy a vegan Garden Salad from Domino’s.

§ Chicken Apple Pecan Salad

Domino’s vegan salad

Just by reading the name of this salad, you know one major ingredient that you need to skip on when ordering a vegan salad at Domino’s. But, does this salad needs any more modifications? Let’s take a look at its ingredients to find out…

Domino’s Chicken Apple Pecan Salad is made of roasted chicken, green and red apples (diced), praline pecans, dried cranberries, and cheddar cheese all topped over a bed of spring mix.

Out of these cheddar cheese is clearly another non-vegan ingredient apart from chicken. But, what about praline pecans? Is praline vegan? Sadly, it’s not!

For those who may not know, praline has dairy in it; at least its American version does…

So, when customizing Chicken Apple Pecan salad at Domino’s according to your vegan diet, you’ll have to get it without chicken, cheese, and praline pecans.

A quick tip to make your vegan Domino’s salads a little more flavorful is to order a vegan sauce on the side and toss it in your veggie mix. If this doesn’t sound interesting to you, go for the classic vegan dressings available at Domino’s.

§ Vegan Salad Dressings at Domino’s

Domino’s vegan salad dressings

Your vegan salad dressing options at Domino’s include:

  • Balsamic vinaigrette
  • Italian dressing
  • Fat-free raspberry dressing

Note:

Domino’s also offer Caesar salad. But, removing all the non-vegan ingredients from it will leave you with only a mix of iceberg and romaine lettuce, which I am sure no one wants to eat in name of salad.

§ Domino’s Vegan Pasta

How to order a vegan pasta at Domino’s

None of the pasta varieties on Domino’s menu are vegan. However, the penne pasta that they use in different varieties is itself vegan. This means, you can get it made vegan by skipping meat and cheese and choosing vegetable add-ins instead. You’ll also have to consider the sauce used in the pasta you’re ordering. Make sure it’s vegan (see vegan sauce options below in the Pizza Sauce section).

If it’s one of those days when you don’t mind cooking a good vegan meal for yourself, try making your own vegan pasta at home. Check out the following video for some amazing recipes…

§ Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich

Domino’s vegan sandwich

This is the only obvious option for plant-eaters on Domino’s sandwich menu. However, it is not vegan as it contains cheese; quite a few different types.

Domino’s Mediterranean Veggie sandwich ingredients are: fresh baby spinach, diced tomatoes, banana peppers, roasted red peppers, feta cheese, American cheese, and provolone cheese.

Therefore, when ordering it vegan style, make sure to tell them to hold the cheese.

You can also try requesting them if they can make the sandwich with a vegan sauce. If not, you can always order a vegan dipping sauce on the side and add it to the sandwich yourself.

§ Make-Your-Own Vegan Pizza at Domino’s

How to order a vegan pizza at Domino’s

While technically, you can get any of Domino’s pizza customized according to a vegan diet, I don’t recommend it simply because it’s too much hassle. Instead of wasting time in figuring out what non-vegan ingredients does a pizza contain, it’s better to make your own vegan pizza from scratch. Here’s a detailed guide on how to get a vegan pizza from Domino’s:

Step 1 – Choose Your Crust

Domino’s offer five different crust options. However, only two of them are vegan-friendly; the rest contain milk. Your vegan pizza crust options at Domino’s include:

  • Thin Crust
  • Gluten-Free Crust

Choose your desired crust from these to build your own vegan pizza at Domino’s.

Step 2 – Choose the Sauce

There is a bad news and a good news for vegans. The bad news is that there are only two vegan pizza sauce options at Domino’s. And the good news is that they include the classic Pizza Sauce, also called Robust Tomato sauce. The other option is Brown BBQ Sauce.

Step 3 – Choose Your Toppings

As mentioned earlier, Domino’s doesn’t offer any vegan meat option, as yet. So, you’re basically only left with veggies. You have the following vegetable options to choose your Domino’s vegan pizza toppings from:

  • Banana Peppers
  • Fresh Green Peppers
  • Fresh Onions
  • Fresh Mushrooms
  • Fresh baby Spinach
  • Jalapenos
  • Pepperoncini Peppers
  • Roasted Red Peppers
  • Tomatoes
  • Black Olives
  • Green Olives*
  • Garlic*
  • Green Chile Peppers*
  • Parsley
  • Pineapples
  • Garlic & Herb Shake-On
  • Oregano Blend Shake-On

Note:

Vegetables marked with * may not be available at all Domino’s locations. Check with your local Domino’s store to confirm if they offer these.

What about Cheese? Does Domino’s Have Vegan Cheese?

A big bummer for pizza lovers! Domino’s doesn’t offer any vegan cheese options.

Doesn’t make sense to get a pizza without cheese? Bring your domino’s veggie pizza home or get it delivered, top it with your own vegan cheese, and microwave it for a couple of minutes or until the cheese is melted.

For an even better pizza experience, you can also add some vegan meat, vegan bacon bits, or vegan pepperoni slices on your Domino’s vegan pizza, along with the cheese.

§ Domino’s Vegan Dipping Sauces

Domino’s vegan sauces

You can order the following vegan dipping sauces at Domino’s on the side to further enhance the flavor of your vegan pizza or vegan pasta:

  • BBQ Sauce (Red)
  • Kicker Hot Sauce
  • Mango Habanero Sauce
  • Garlic Sauce

Note:

According to Domino’s allergen menu, their Marinara Pizza Sauce contains milk. However, Marinara Dipping Sauce is listed as dairy-free. It’s a little confusing, so it’s better to avoid it. However, if you really want to have Marinara on the side, confirm its vegan status at your local Dominos’ while ordering.

§ Vegan Drinks at Dominos

Domino’s vegan drinks

Domino’s drink menu is pretty basic. You can get the regular sodas, water, and perhaps a few different types of juices.

§ Are There Any Vegan Desserts at Dominos

Domino’s offer three dessert options on its standard menu – Cinna Stix, Chocolate Lava Crunch Cake, and Marbled Cookie Brownie. However, none of them are vegan-friendly. Cinna Stix contain milk while the other two contain both milk and eggs.

Domino’s Menu Items That May Look Vegan, but Are Not!

Like most other restaurants that do not have a dedicated vegan menu, some people may get confused about a few items on Domino’s menu. They may be mistaken as vegan-friendly, but they actually contain non-vegan ingredients. These include:

  • Hand-Tossed Crust – Contains milk.
  • Handmade Pan Pizza Crust – Contains milk.
  • Brooklyn Style Crust – Contains milk.
  • Marinara Pizza Sauce – According to Domino’s allergen guide, it contains milk.
  • Garlic Oil Blend – Listed in the pizza toppings section, this oil-based topping contains milk.
  • Pasta Primavera – Contains milk.

Frequently Asked Questions

I am sure many of you still have a few questions in mind about vegan options at Domino’s. Let’s answer them before wrapping up the article, so you have a clear idea about how to eat vegan at Domino’s, the next time you find yourself at the pizza place:

§ Is Domino’s hand tossed crust vegan?

Domino’s Hand Tossed Pizza Crust is not vegan. According to the restaurant’s allergen menu, it contains milk.

§ Does Domino’s thin crust have dairy?

Domino’s Crunchy Thin Crust does not have dairy. It is one of the two vegan pizza crusts that the restaurant offers.

§ Are Domino’s breadsticks vegan?

Domino’s Breadsticks are not vegan; they contain milk. In fact, none of their bread varieties available as sides are vegan. They all contain milk.

The only vegan bread at Domino’s is the artisan bread that they use for their sandwiches.

§ Does Domino’s have vegan cheese?

Sadly, Domino’s has not yet responded to huge demands for adding vegan cheese in their menu. I really hope they do so, soon. 

§ Does Domino’s have vegan pizza?

Domino’s does not have a vegan pizza on its menu. However, you can get a vegan pizza custom made [detailed guidelines are given above].

§ Does Domino’s have dairy-free pizza?

All Domino’s pizzas come with cheese, which contains dairy. If you’re avoiding dairy for any reason, you can ask to hold the cheese.

It’s important to note here that your Domino’s pizza will not necessarily become vegan-friendly just be skipping cheese; there are other factors to consider, which are disused earlier in the article.

§ Does Domino’s have vegetarian pizza?

Domino’s does offer a couple of vegetarian pizza options. These include the Pacific Veggie Pizza and Spinach and Feta Pizza.

§ Does Domino’s have vegan sides?

Unfortunately, none of the delicious sides at Domino’s are vegan-friendly.

§ Is Domino’s sandwich bread vegan?

Yes. The artisan bread that Domino’s uses for its sandwiches is vegan.

The Final Word – Is Domino’s Vegan-Friendly?

After going through the whole article, you would know that Domino’s isn’t a vegan-friendly place. However, you won’t be staying hungry if you end up there with friends or family.

You can get yourself a vegan pizza, although it will be without cheese, or a meatless and dairy-free pasta. These aren’t the best vegan food options, but they are at least better than fries (that you have to rely on at most American fast-food restaurants).

If you’re really craving for a pizza and can’t get your hands on a vegan version, your best bet, as discussed earlier, is to bring a customized vegan Domino’s pizza at home and top it with your own vegan meat and cheese.

Microwave it for a couple of minutes or put it in the oven for 5 minutes and you’ll have a delicious vegan pizza.  

Having said that, it’s high time that Domino’s realize the ever-increasing demand for vegan-friendly options at restaurants and revise its menu to accommodate the diverse dietary choices of their customers, just like they’re doing in the UK and Australia (yes, Domino’s has already introduced vegan options in these counties).

Photo of author
Author Bio
Im Emma and I’m the creator of Vegan Calm. When I became a vegan seven years ago, I mainly did it for health and ethical reasons. To my surprise, it had another amazing benefit; I became a much calmer and peaceful person. This change inspired me to create Vegan Calm. Whether you’ve been a vegan for a long time or just want to learn more, this website will have something for you.

Check Out These Posts:

Are fortune cookies gluten-free
Are Dippin’ Dots Vegan
Is Tapioca Vegetarian