For me, there is nothing like a classic southern-style hand-tossed, stone-baked pizza straight out of the oven. If this is the kind of pizza you also like, you have to try Mellow Mushroom.
Serving handcrafted pizzas for over 40 years, the restaurant chain has truly unlocked the secret of pizza-making.
While it’s hard to resist their mouthwatering pizzas, the restaurant also offers many other food choices for those who may not be big fans of these cheesy pies. But do they have vegan options?
Let’s check out the restaurant’s website to see if there is a Mellow Mushroom vegan menu.
Does Mellow Mushroom Have Vegan Food?
Good news, it does!
The restaurant first came up with vegan options in 2014, and while their vegan journey has been slow, it’s ongoing ever since, with new plant-based options being added to the menu at regular intervals. Today, Mellow Mushroom offers a separate vegan menu that most pizza places lack.
Before you get your hopes too high, let me tell you that while there is a separate vegan menu at Mellow Mushroom, it has very limited choices. But, don’t be disappointed either.
There may not be too many options on the Mellow Mushroom vegan menu, but you can rest assured to have a true Mellow Mushroom experience.
What Can Vegans Eat at Mellow Mushroom?
Vegan options at Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers include:
- Vegan Hummus
- Vegan Greek Salad
- Vegan Enlightened Spinach Salad
- Vegan Tempeh Hoagie
- Vegan Veg Out Pizza
These are the options listed on Mellow Mushroom’s vegan menu. The restaurant asserts are prepared with great care to prevent cross-contamination, making them suitable for even the most staunch vegans.
Those who are not so particular about (the likelihood of) cross-contamination can also choose the Build Your Own Burger, Build Your Own Pizza, and Build Your Own Calzone Options.
Mellow Mushroom Vegan Menu 2022 – A Detailed Overview
Want to know what ingredients each of Mellow Mushroom vegan options are made using? Keep reading as we discuss all the food items in detail, using the information available on the restaurant’s website.
Mellow Mushroom Vegan Appetizers
Whether you’re an appetizer lover like me or just order them so you can munch on something until your main meal is served, it’s good to know your options at any given restaurant.
At Mellow Mushroom, there is only one vegan-friendly appetizer offered. But, don’t be disappointed; it’s a good one.
When eating vegan at Mellow Mushroom, start your meal with:
Thick, rich, creamy, and delicious, Mellow Mushroom vegan hummus is prepared the authentic way and comes topped with olive oil, a sprinkle of paprika for a hint of spice, and basil leaves for herby freshness.
As for dippers for this Middle Eastern delight, you get the option to choose from carrots and celery or toasted wedges of vegan pita.
Mellow Mushroom Vegan Salads
Ordering a salad may not be on your mind when you visit a pizzeria, but if you want to pair your cheesy pie with some healthy goodness, Mellow Mushroom vegan salads make great choices.
I know what many of you may be thinking, but the vegan salad options that Mellow Mushroom offers aren’t bland and boring.
Your choices include:
Vegan Greek Salad
Mellow Mushroom’s vegan Greek salad starts with the basic salad mix of iceberg lettuce, romaine lettuce, red cabbage, and shredded carrots. But, the preparation doesn’t end here.
The basic salad mix is enhanced with green peppers, sweet onions, Roma tomatoes, cucumbers, mushrooms, banana peppers, pepperoncini, and Kalamata olives.
Vegan Enlightened Spinach Salad
Ideal for those who like spinach a little too much or love slightly sweeter salads, this vegan salad at Mellow Mushroom is made with fresh spinach, diced apples, dried cherries, and glazed pecans prepared in-house as per vegan dietary guidelines.
Mellow Mushroom’s menu doesn’t tell if these salads come with a dressing or not. If they do not, you can order one separately.
Your options for vegan salad dressings at Mellow Mushroom include Balsamic Vinaigrette and Herb Vinaigrette.
Mellow Mushroom Vegan Sandwich
There are countless different types of sandwiches available out there. But, the one that’s on the Mellow Mushroom vegan menu is what is popularly known as a sub, hoagie, or a submarine sandwich.
Vegan Tempeh Hoagie
As evident from the name, Mellow Mushroom’s vegan hoagie stars the traditional Indonesian delicacy made with fermented soybeans.
The tempeh is marinated with balsamic and then paired with Roma tomatoes, lettuce, grilled onions, green peppers, mushrooms, and vegan cheese (from Follow Your Vegan Heart) inside a fresh, soft vegan hoagie bun.
Mellow Mushroom Vegan Pizza
Despite the ever-expanding vegan food industry, finding vegan pizza with cheese is still a bit of a struggle to find vegan pizza with cheese. Mellow Mushroom has one for you.
Vegan Veg Out Pizza
Contrary to what the name may suggest, this vegan pizza from Mellow Mushroom offers an abundance of vegetable goodness. It has spinach, Roma tomatoes, green peppers, sweet onions, mushrooms, and black olives with vegan cheese and Mellow’s signature red sauce on a vegan-friendly pizza crust.
Build-Your-Own Vegan Pizza
If you prefer the Make-Your-Own Pizza option, read on to learn about your vegan-friendly choices:
Step 1 – Choose the Crust
All the pizza crust options available at Mellow Mushroom are vegan-friendly, so you can choose any.
There are a total of three choices available:
- Thin Crust
- Gluten-Free Crust
Step 2 – Choose Your Base Sauce
Smother your chosen pizza crust with any of the following Mellow Mushroom’s vegan pizza sauces:
- Olive Oil& Garlic
- Mellow Red Sauce
Step 3 – Choose Your Cheese
When ordering vegan at Mellow Mushroom, you only have one vegan cheese option, and that is the Follow Your Vegan Heart Cheese.
Step 4 – Choose Your Toppings
Here are all the options you can choose your Mellow Mushroom vegan pizza toppings from:
- Artichoke Hearts
- Banana Peppers
- Caramelized Onions
- Dried Cherries
- Green Peppers
- Portobello Mushrooms
- Gluten-Free Mushrooms
- Mushroom Trio (Roasted)
- Olives – Green, Black, Kalamata, Gluten-Free
- Peppadew Peppers
- Pecans (Glazed)
- Roasted Red Peppers
- Roma Tomatoes
- Roasted Tomatoes
*Tofu and tempeh are marinated in your choice of sauce. Your vegan-friendly options include jerk sauce and herb vinaigrette.
**You can also have your own vegan calzone made following the same method. The ingredient options are all the same.
Mellow Mushroom Vegan Beverages
Your options for vegan drinks at Mellow Mushroom include:
- Coke Zero
- Diet Coke
- Cherry Coke
- Coke Zero with Cherry
- Fanta Orange
- Fanta Fruit Punch
- Barq’s Root Beer
- Hi-C Lemon
- Hi-C Fruit Punch
- Minute Maid Lemonade
- Mello Yellow
- Powerade Mountain Blast
- Powerade Fruit Punch
- Seagram’s Ginger Ale
- Strawberry Lemon-Limeade
- Unsweetened Tea
- Peach Iced Tea
- Peach Buzz
- RB Margarita
- The RB Margarita Gone Feral
- The RB Margarita Made Wild
- Mule It Over
- Sunset In Paradise
- Jam ‘N Juice
- Golden Goose
Mellow Mushroom Food Options That Are Not on the Vegan Menu, But (Appear to be) Vegan-Friendly
The following items are not listed on Mellow Mushroom’s vegan menu. But, as per the restaurant’s allergen menu, they do not contain any animal ingredients.
They may be cooked in shared equipment, though. If this is something you strictly avoid, you should better stick to the vegan menu provided by the restaurant. If not, you may order them.
Make sure to confirm their ingredients with your server one more time before ordering to be on the safe side.
- Roasted Red Potatoes
- Jerk Tofu
- French Bread
- Multi-Grain Bread
- Black Truffle Oil
- Italian Seasoning
- Multigrain Ciabatta – from the catering menu
Mellow Mushroom Food Items That May Be Made Vegan
There are some items on Mellow Mushroom’s menu that do not come standard as vegan-friendly, but their descriptions given on the restaurant’s website tell that they may be made vegan by placing custom orders.
If you’re strict about the use of shared equipment or cross-contamination through any other way, make sure to ask your server if there’s a risk of it with these items.
Your choices include:
- Avocado Smash – Skip the feta and swap toast points with French bread.
- Bruschetta – Skip the feta cheese and choose French bread instead of toast points.
- House Salad – Hold the parmesan.
- Holy Shiitake Pie – Replace regular cheeses with vegan cheese and ask to hold the garlic aioli swirl.
- Avocado Hoagie – Skip the mayo and ask for vegan cheese instead of provolone.
Mellow Mushroom Vegan Options FAQs
- Is Mellow Mushroom pesto vegan?
No. Mellow Mushroom pesto is not vegan. According to the restaurant’s allergen menu, it contains animal products, most likely milk.
- Is Mellow Mushroom buffalo sauce vegan?
Mellow Mushroom’s buffalo sauce contains milk. Hence, it’s not suitable for vegans.
- What sauces are vegan at Mellow Mushroom?
There are only a few vegan-friendly sauces available at Mellow Mushroom. These include:
- Jerk Sauce
- Red Sauce
- Sweet Chili Glaze
- Are Mellow Mushroom pretzels vegan?
They are not. Mellow Mushroom’s allergen menu highlights that their pretzels contain milk.
Conclusion – Is Mellow Mushroom Vegan-Friendly?
Even though Mellow Mushroom has limited options on its vegan menu, I would rate it as a vegan-friendly restaurant. This is because they are considerate of the cross-contamination issue and make sure that their vegan menu items do not come with that risk.
This is something that even many leading chains and big names in the restaurant industry ignore or do not pay enough attention to.
This reason alone is enough for me to visit Mellow Mushroom. Nothing is more precious than the peace of mind that comes with knowing that your vegan food is prepared just the way it should be. But, the restaurant gives you more reasons to make it one of your regular dine-out spots.
You get a vegan pizza and hoagie here and can also have a vegan calzone and burger made by choosing the Build-Your-Own option.
If you haven’t been to Mellow Mushroom yet, give it a try on your next dine-out. You won’t be disappointed.
Did you find this vegan breakdown of Mellow Mushroom’s menu helpful? Are you interested to read similar articles on other pizza places in the country? Check out my article Pizza Hut Vegan Options to find out what the real OG of the pizza world has on the menu for its vegan customers.