MOD Pizza Vegan Options 2024: Custom Choices

MOD Pizza, short for Made of Demand pizza, may not be as big (or old) of a name as some other leading pizza chains, but it certainly is a pioneer in the fast-casual pizza category.

There are only a few places that make your pizzas, just how you want them, on the assembly line, like they do at Subway or Chipotle. And MOD Pizza is one of the best among them.

But how does this pizza chain holds up for vegans? Does MOD Pizza have vegan pizza?

Let’s find out all about MOD Pizza vegan options today!

Does MOD Pizza Have Vegan Options?

It does!

Not only does the restaurant have vegan pizza crust and sauce options, but it also offers vegan cheese, which is rare in the fast-food world. Some of the country’s leading pizza chains do not have vegan cheese. And what’s a pizza without cheese?

MOD Pizza introduced vegan cheese in 2015, and recently (in August 2021), they also added vegan meat topping to their menu. And it’s not just any vegan meat – it is peas-protein-based Italian sausage crumble seasoned with thyme, oregano, and fennel.

Now, you don’t have to settle for that vegetable-loaded cheese-less pizza to satisfy your cravings.

What are you waiting for? Head to your nearest MOD Pizza for a pizza party with your fellow plant-eaters.

But, before you go, make sure you know your options, so you don’t have to waste any time there figuring things out. Keep reading to find out your choices and learn how to order vegan at MOD Pizza.

What are the Vegan Options at MOD Pizza?

What are the Vegan Options at MOD Pizza?

Vegan options at MOD Pizza include:

  • Maddy Pizza – requires customization
  • Dillon James Pizza – requires customization
  • Lucy Sunshine Pizza – requires customization
  • Create Your Own Pizza
  • Garden Salad
  • Create Your Own Salad
  • Cinnamon Strips – without icing
  • Beverages

Keep reading to learn what each of these premade MOD pizzas contains, what customizations they need to be made vegan, and how you should go about creating your own custom vegan pizza at MOD Pizza.

As always, I will also answer some common questions about MOD Pizza’s vegan menu (that may remain unanswered in the article) in the last section.

This guide about eating vegan at MOD Pizza is prepared using the restaurant’s allergen menu, as the primary source, and a few other reliable secondary sources on the internet.

MOD Pizza Vegan Options – A Detailed Overview

Let’s dig deeper into MOD Pizza’s menu to learn it all about ordering vegan there.

MOD Pizza Vegan Classic Pizzas

Even though there are numerous new, interesting varieties of pizza available now, it’s hard to beat the classic ones.

MOD Pizza, just like any other pizza chain, offers a range of classic pizzas, including some vegetarian varieties. And those are the ones that we can get made vegan most easily. You simply have to order them with dairy-free cheese.

Here are the three MOD classic pizzas that can be made vegan:

Maddy Pizza

 Maddy Pizza

It’s not every day that you get to eat a vegan pizza with cheese. So, when you get the opportunity, it only makes sense to make the most of it. If you love the cheesy deliciousness they call a cheese pizza, get yourself Vegan Maddy at MOD Pizza.

It’s your classic cheese pizza, just made vegan.

Dillon James Pizza

Dillon James Pizza

Tomatoes, basil, cheese – sounds like your kind of flavor combo? Try MOD’s Dillon James Pizza to enjoy this traditional Italian pizza flavor combination.

Make sure to order it vegan, so the dairy cheese is swapped with plant-based cheese. You will get a red sauce pizza with sliced tomatoes, fresh basil, garlic, and vegan cheese.

Lucy Sunshine Pizza

Lucy Sunshine Pizza

Do you like the complex flavor profile of artichokes, with earthy, herby, nutty, and slightly sweet notes? If you do, you may want to try MOD’s Lucy Sunshine Pizza because it stars this popular edible flower.

Artichokes are paired with red pizza sauce, garlic, and cheese. When ordering vegan at MOD Pizza, make sure to tell your server, and ask for dairy-free cheese.

It’s important to note here that technically you can get any of MOD’s Pizzas customized for a vegan diet, but the vegetarian varieties are the easiest to vegan-ize as they only require one modification.

All other pizzas contain multiple animal-based ingredients, and hence, would be harder to customize. A better option would be to create your own vegan pizza. Why not avail the opportunity when it’s there?

Create Your Own Vegan Pizza

Whether you’re a picky eater or just very particular about what goes on your pizza, MOD Pizza is the place for you. The restaurant chain allows its customers get their own pizzas made from scratch, right in front of their eyes, just the way they like it. It’s great, and fun too.

Read on for a quick step-by-step guide on how to order a vegan pizza at MOD Pizza and learn about your options for each component.

Step 1 – Choose Your Crust

 Choose Your Crust

There are a couple of vegan pizza dough options at MOD Pizza. These include:

  • Original Crust

MOD Pizza Original Pizza Crust ingredients include the following:

Original Crust
  • Gluten-Friendly Crust

The second vegan crust option at MOD Pizza is also suitable for those who have gluten-intolerance or avoid gluten for general health purposes. MOD Pizza Gluten-Friendly Crust ingredients are:

Gluten-Free Crust

Step 2 – Choose the Base Sauce

Step 2 – Choose the Base Sauce

Wondering what sauces are vegan at MOD Pizza? Good news! Most of the pizza sauces available at MOD Pizza happen to be vegan-friendly, so you have choices.

Vegan sauce options at MOD Pizza include:

  • Red Sauce
  • Spicy Red Sauce
  • BBQ Sauce
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Garlic Rub

Step 3 – Vegan Cheese

Vegan Cheese

There is only one dairy-free cheese available at MOD Pizza: Daiya Mozzarella Style Shreds. So, just ask for vegan cheese.

Step 4 – Choose Toppings

Step 4 – Choose Toppings

Unlike most other pizza places, vegan pizza topping options at MOD Pizza include both veggies and plant-based meat. Here’s a complete list of available choices:

  • Plant-Based Italian Sausage
  • Arugula
  • Artichoke
  • Black Olives
  • Greek Olives
  • Roasted Corns
  • Green Bell Peppers
  • Roasted Red Peppers
  • Sweet Hot Peppers
  • Red Onion
  • Tomatoes
  • Jalapenos
  • Mushrooms
  • Spinach
  • Mixed Greens
  • Pineapple
  • Banana Peppers – available at selected locations
  • Serrano Peppers – available at selected locations
  • Fresh Basil
  • Fresh Rosemary
  • Garlic – Raw
  • Garlic – Roasted
  • Oregano

Step 5 – Choose the Finishing Sauce

Step 5 – Choose the Finishing Sauce

At MOD Pizza, you can also add sauce topping to your pizza. They call it finishing sauce at the restaurant, and its vegan-friendly options include:

  • BBQ Swirl
  • Balsamic Fig Glaze
  • Hot Buffalo Sauce
  • Red Sauce
  • Romesco Sauce
  • Apple Cider Glaze

Choose your favorite ingredients/ components from each category, and see your vegan pizza being made right in front of your eyes within a few minutes.

MOD Pizza Vegan Salad

MOD Pizza Vegan Salad

Want something healthy to pair your pizza with, perhaps to eat your greens or reduce your guilt for devouring cheese-loaded pizza slices? MOD Pizza has a few different types of salads. But, only one of them comes standard as vegan-friendly.

Just like pizzas, you can technically get all of them customized for the vegan diet, but why do that when you can create your own vegan salad? Here are your options to get a vegan salad at MOD Pizza:

Garden Salad

This is the standard garden salad that you can get at most restaurants. It’s made with romaine lettuce, mixed greens, cucumbers, diced tomatoes, and sherry Dijon vinaigrette.

Create Your Own Salad

Start creating your MOD Pizza vegan salad by selecting a base from romaine lettuce or mixed greens (there’s no one stopping you from getting both as well, though). Next, choose all your favorite vegetables. The options are the same for veggie pizza toppings (listed above).

Since MOD Pizza also has vegan meat and cheese, you can also have them added to your salad.

Lastly, top the salad with your choice of dressing. MOD Pizza vegan salad dressing options include:

  • Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Lemon Vinaigrette
  • Sherry Dijon Vinaigrette
  • Greek Herb & Tahini Dressing
  • Zesty Roma Dressing
  • Red Wine Vinegar
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil

MOD Pizza Vegan Desserts

MOD Pizza Vegan Desserts

There is one accidentally vegan dessert on MOD Pizza’s menu – Cinnamon Strips.

Both Cinnamon Strips and their topping are vegan-friendly. But the icing these strips come with are not vegan, so make sure to skip the icing when eating vegan at MOD Pizza.

MOD Pizza Vegan Beverages

MOD Pizza Vegan Beverages

MOD Pizza’s beverage menu is pretty standard, with options ranging from fountain drinks and lemonades to teas and a few alcoholic drinks. Here’s a quick rundown of vegan drink options at MOD Pizza for your convenience:

  • Coca-Cola Products
  • Dr. Pepper Products
  • Vintage Lemonade
  • Marionberry Lemonade
  • Black Tea
  • Caramelized Pear Iced Tea

The variety of alcoholic drinks varies across different locations, so check your local MOD Pizza menu to find your options. If you get confused about the vegan status of any drinks, use Barnivore to find out.

MOD Pizza Menu Items That May Look Vegan But Are Not

When dining at MOD Pizza, beware of the following ingredients. They may look vegan but actually contain animal-derived ingredients and hence, are not suitable for those following a vegan lifestyle.

  • Cauliflower Crust – Contains milk and eggs.
  • Pesto Sauce – Contains dairy in the form of parmesan cheese
  • Pesto Drizzle – Contains milk and cheese
  • Italian Dressing – Contains dairy
  • Garlic Strips – Contain dairy
  • Cinnamon Icing – Contains milk
  • Rosemary Garlic Topping – Contains dairy

MOD Pizza Vegan Menu FAQs

As promised in the beginning, here are some questions about MOD Pizza vegan options that remained unanswered in the article.

▪ What type of vegan cheese does MOD Pizza use?

MOD Pizza uses Daiya’s Mozzarella Style Shreds for its vegan pizzas. It’s not only plant-based but also gluten-free, soy-free, and nut-free, making it suitable for vegans and those with various food allergies.

MOD Pizza vegan cheese ingredients include:

MOD Pizza vegan cheese ingredients

▪ Does MOD Pizza have a vegan ranch?

No. MOD Pizza doesn’t have vegan-friendly ranch dressing or sauce.

§  Is MOD Pizza cauliflower crust vegan?

No. MOD Pizza’s cauliflower crust contains eggs and milk, which is not vegan-friendly.

§  Does MOD Pizza have vegan cheese bread?

Even though MOD Pizza has vegan dough and cheese, it doesn’t offer vegan-friendly cheese bread (take hint MOD Pizza and improve your vegan menu).

Conclusion – Is MOD Pizza Vegan-Friendly?

MOD Pizza makes pizzas on demand right in front of your eyes. This allows vegans (or those with other dietary restrictions) to make sure their food is prepared the right way and no restricted ingredients sneak into it.

Moreover, MOD Pizza has vegan options for every pizza component, including dairy-free cheese and plant-based meat, allowing you to have a wholesome pizza experience without compromising your dietary (or ideological) commitments.

These factors make MOD Pizza a great pizza place for vegans. However, one thing that I believe is worth mentioning is that the restaurant doesn’t provide any information on cross-contamination.

Do they use separate pans to make vegan pizza or the same ones for non-vegan varieties? We don’t know! If this is something you’re concerned about, make sure to confirm before ordering.

Did you find this article helpful? Interested to learn about vegan options available at other pizza chains? Check out my article Domino’s Vegan Options to find out what the country’s largest pizza chain has for its vegan customers.

Photo of author
Author Bio
Im Emma and I’m the creator of Vegan Calm. When I became a vegan seven years ago, I mainly did it for health and ethical reasons. To my surprise, it had another amazing benefit; I became a much calmer and peaceful person. This change inspired me to create Vegan Calm. Whether you’ve been a vegan for a long time or just want to learn more, this website will have something for you!

Check Out These Posts:

Are Glazed Donuts Vegan
Are Mission Flour Tortillas Vegan
Are Fruit Snacks Vegan