Did you ever visit a restaurant and thought how amazing it would have been if you could alter some of the dishes a bit to make them more apt for your taste or, in our case, the restricted diet?
Visit Moe’s because it lets you do it!
Boasting a classic Mexican and Tex-Mex customizable menu with fresh ingredients, Moe’s Southwest Grill allows its customers to order food just how they like it; healthy, nutrient-dense, gluten-free, vegetarian, or vegan.
There may not be premade Moe’s vegan options on the menu, but the restaurant lets you create many according to your taste and preferences.
Moe’s caters to its customers’ dietary needs, and we gotta love it for this.
Whether you’re addicted to Mexican food or enjoy having it just once in a while, Moe’s Southwest Grill should be one of the top choices to get your Mexican (or Tex-Mex) food fix. Not sure how to order vegan at Moe’s? Read on learn all about it!
Moe’s Vegan Options
There are no ready-to-eat vegan food options on Moe’s menu. But you can get literally every menu item made vegan. Your choices include:
- Homewrecker Burrito – requires modification
- Build Your Own Burrito
- Homewrecker Bowl – requires modification
- Build Your Own Bowl
- Stack – requires modification
- Build Your Own Quesadilla
- Build Your Own Tacos
- Build Your Own Nachos
- Build Your Own Salad
- Handcrafted Guac
How to Order Vegan Food at Moe’s?
As evident from the list above, ordering vegan food at Moe’s is more about picking your own ingredients to put together a dish of your choice rather than ordering something off the menu.
However, you may also get a few standard menu items customized to your requirements. Let’s go over Moe’s menu to find all the choices it has for us.
▪ Homewrecker Burrito
A big, hearty classic burrito packed with Mexican flavors is never the wrong choice.
Whether you’re looking for a filling breakfast, a quick lunch option, or a satisfying dinner on a weekday without having to spend hours in the kitchen, Moe’s Homewrecker Burrito is a great option.
It’s also a perfect choice when you’re not in the mood or don’t have time to choose every single ingredient that goes inside your burrito.
Moe’s Homewrecker Burrito comes standard in a 12-inch flour tortilla with your choice of protein, black beans, seasoned rice, tomatoes, pico de gallo, sour cream, guacamole, lettuce, and cheese.
To get this made as a vegan burrito at Moe’s, choose tofu for protein (they have organic tofu) and ask them to hold the cheese and sour cream.
▪ Homewrecker Burrito Bowl
Watching your carb intake? Or just not in the mood for tortilla? Get Moe’s Homewrecker Bowl to enjoy all the flavors of your favorite burrito without the flour tortilla.
The burrito bowl requires the same customizations to be made vegan – hold the cheese and sour cream and choose a vegan protein, i.e., tofu. Don’t like tofu? Skip that as well and enjoy rice, beans, and veggies with classic Mexican salsa and guac.
Moe’s Stack is a cross between quesadilla and taco, or as they say it, their take on the southwestern wrap. Featuring a shell of two crunchy corn tacos and a large grilled tortilla, the stack comes standard filled with your choice of protein, black beans, pico de gallo, queso, and cheese.
Since it doesn’t have very many ingredients, and you will have to skip the cheese as it’s not vegan, the stack is only suitable for those who like tofu. This Moe’s menu item is not for you if you don’t like soy protein.
▪ Build Your Own Food
Moe’s offers the build-you-own option for all its items, except the stack. And it is your best choice when eating vegan at this Mexican restaurant chain.
Since most ingredients are the same for all food items on Moe’s menu, I am listing them all down here, so you know what all you have available.
When ordering vegan food at Moe’s Southwest Grill, you have the following options to choose from:
- Burrito Bowl
Vegan Entrée Base Options at Moe’s
Depending on what you want to eat, you can choose from the following core ingredients for your vegan entrée at Moe’s:
- Flour tortilla
- Whole grain tortilla
- Soft, small flour tortilla (for taco)
- Soft corn tortilla
- Crispy corn tortilla
- Tortilla chips
- Salad greens
- Tortilla bowl for salad
Vegan Protein Options at Moe’s
Moe’s only has one vegan protein option, and that is:
- Organic tofu
Vegan Beans at Moe’s
Moe’s has two types of beans on its menu, and both of them are vegan-friendly. They are:
- Black beans
- Pinto beans
Vegan Grains at Moe’s
Moe’s has three different varieties of grains for burritos and bowls, and all of them are free of animal ingredients, so you can choose any. Your options include:
- Seasoned rice
- Cilantro lime rice
There are a ton of vegetable options at Moe’s to add in your burritos, bowls, tacos, and salads, or top your nachos with. All of them are free of animal ingredients, and hence, are suitable for vegans.
Vegetable add-ons and toppings available at Moe’s include:
- Diced onions
- Grilled onions
- Diced tomatoes
- Diced cucumbers
- Shredded lettuce
- Fresh jalapenos
- Pickled jalapenos
- Grilled mushrooms
- Grilled peppers
- Black olives
- Lime wedges
- Romaine lettuce – for salad
Moe’s Vegan Sauces and Salsas
Make your Moe’s vegan foods all the more flavorful with the following classic vegan Mexican sauces and salsas:
- Pico de gallo
- Corn pico
- Tomatillo salsa
- El Guapo salsa
- Tres jalapeno salsa
- Southwest Vinaigrette
- Hard Rock and Roll Hot Sauce
▪ Moe’s Vegan Sides
When eating at Moe’s, you get a side of fresh chips and salsa for free with every order. Tortilla chips are vegan-friendly, but a couple of salsa varieties are not, so make sure you choose the right type of salsa (refer to the list given above).
If you’re not a salsa person, you can also get fresh, handmade guac with bottomless chips.
▪ Moe’s Vegan Drinks
Moe’s Southwest Grill has quite a few drinks options. However, the drinks menu tends to vary across various locations, so you’ll have to check your local Moe’s menu to know what your exact options are.
Having said that, you will find the following different types of vegan drinks:
- Coca-Cola products (freestyle)
- Moe-Rita – Moe’s signature drinks
- Aguas Frescas – refreshing fruity blends
- Iced Tea – sweet and unsweetened
Moe’s Menu Items That May Look Vegan, But Are Not
A couple of items on Moe’s menu may be mistaken as vegan-friendly, but they are not vegan as per the restaurant’s website. These include:
- Kaiser Salsa
- Space B’Gree Us Salsa
Moe’s website doesn’t provide lists of ingredients for different menu items, so we don’t know the non-vegan ingredients in these salsas. However, they are categorized as non-vegan by the restaurant itself, which is enough reason for us to avoid them.
Moe’s Vegan Options FAQs
▪ Does Moe’s have vegan cheese?
No. Moe’s Southwest Grill doesn’t have vegan cheese. So, you will have to omit the cheese from everything when eating vegan at Moe’s.
▪ Are Moe’s pinto beans vegan?
Yes. Moe’s pinto beans are classified as vegan-friendly on the website. The black beans are vegan too.
Conclusion – Is Moe’s Vegan-Friendly?
Moe’s Southwest Grill has many vegan options to put together your favorite Mexican foods. Whether you are in the mood for a burrito, burrito bowl, taco, salad, or nachos, you can choose from a range of ingredients without compromising on your dietary commitments.
The restaurant allows you to build your own meals, which is a great option for vegans as it makes it easier to get customized foods.
But, what truly makes Moe’s a great place for plant-eaters is the use of separate equipment for meat and vegetables. This means, when eating vegan at Moe’s, you don’t even have to worry about cross-contamination.
Enjoy classic Mexican foods at Moe’s Southwest Grill without compromising your vegan diet.
Do you love Mexican food and want to know what vegan-friendly options other Mexican restaurant chains offer? Check out my article Vegan Options at Taco Bell to find out what the country’s oldest and most well-known Mexican fast-food chain has for its non-meat-eating customers.