Pizza Hut Vegan Options: Are There Any?

There is nothing more fun than a pizza night with your loved ones. However, the simple act of ordering a pizza can become quite troublesome when you’re a vegan.

The primary reason being the lack of restaurants that offer vegan pizzas. Is Pizza Hut any different?

As a leader of innovation in the pizza industry, in several ways, you would expect Pizza Hut to be at the forefront of the massive change the food industry is going through due to the rise of veganism.

Let’s find out if the renowned pizza chain lives up to your expectations and if there are any Pizza Hut vegan options available in the US.

Does Pizza Hut Offer Vegan Pizza?

In November 2020, Pizza Hut became the first pizza company to offer meatless pizzas nationwide.

Needless to say that the news was well received in the vegan community. However, the pizza chain has sadly discontinued its Beyond Pan Pizzas (the Great Beyond Pizza and Beyond Italian Pizza), leaving its vegan consumers disappointed and devastated.

For months, Pizza Hut’s vegan customers demanded to bring back the plant-based meat pizzas…

After tons of requests and months of waiting, Pizza Hut finally pays heed to its vegan consumers’ demands. On August 10, 2021, Pizza Hut announced that it is testing out Beyond Pepperoni Pizza, made with Beyond Meat’s newly launched vegan pepperoni.

However, it’s a limited trial. The new Pizza Hut vegan pizza will only be available for a limited time at about 70 locations in five cities.

Want to know where can you get Pizza Hut’s new plant-based pizza? Here’s the list of cities it’s available in:

  • Albany, New York
  • Houston, Texas
  • Columbus, Georgia
  • Macon, Georgia
  • Jacksonville, Florida

If you live in any of these cities or visiting there anytime soon, you’re in luck. Don’t miss the opportunity to try out the new vegan pizza at Pizza Hut.

Note

It’s important to mention here that while the new plant-based pizza available at Pizza Hut is meatless and features a vegan pizza crust, it is not 100% vegan on its own. It comes with dairy cheese (Pizza Hut! It’s high time you bring vegan cheese too). So, you will have to ask them to hold the cheese while ordering to enjoy a vegan pizza from Pizza Hut.

What Vegan Options Are Available at Pizza Hut Nationwide? A Complete List of Vegan Options at Pizza Hut

Don’t live in any of the cities where the new plant-based pizza is available? Don’t lose heart! You can still eat vegan at Pizza Hut. Here’s a list of all the vegan options available at Pizza Hut for your convenience:

  • Wing Street Fries with Ketchup
  • Breadsticks – without seasoning
  • Pretzel Bites – only available at Pizza Hut Express
  • Create Your Own Pizza
  • Cinnamon Sticks – without icing
  • Vegan Dipping Sauces
  • Drinks

Keep reading to learn all about how to order vegan at Pizza Hut and get all your queries about Pizza Hut’s vegan menu answered and concerns resolved.

Pizza Hut Vegan Options – A Detailed Breakdown

Pizza Hut Vegan Sides

Pizza Hut offers a very limited number of vegan-friendly sides or can be made vegan upon request. Your options include:

§ Wing Street Fries

Pizza Hut vegan sides

Pizza Hut may not be the place you would order French fries, but it’s always good for vegans to know all their options available at a restaurant. Just like many other restaurants, Pizza Hut fries are vegan. They are cooked in vegetable oil.

However, it’s not clear whether they are cooked in separate fryers or shared ones. If you don’t mind the potential cross-contamination, you can get yourself some freshly cooked fries from Pizza Hut.

You can also confirm at your local Pizza Hut at the time of ordering.

§ Breadsticks

Pizza Hut breadsticks

Pizza Hut breadsticks are not originally vegan. However, they can easily be made vegan. All you have to do is ask them to hold the seasoning because it contains various different types of cheese.

Breadsticks, on their own, are vegan-friendly. Here’s a list of Pizza Hut breadsticks ingredients for your satisfaction:

§ Pretzel Bites

Pizza Hut Pretzel Bites

Pretzel Bites aren’t available at all Pizza Hut locations – you can only get them at Pizza Hut Express. If they are available at your local outlet, get some for yourself because they are vegan-friendly.

Here’s a list of Pizza Hut Pretzel Bites ingredients…

Important

It’s important to note that while all the Pizza Hut menu items listed in this article are vegan or can be made vegan with some modifications, the restaurant doesn’t claim to offer anything vegan (yet). There is a disclaimer on Pizza Hut’s allergen guide stating the following:

While this doesn’t talk about the vegan status of any item on the Pizza Hut menu, it clearly states that there are chances of cross-contamination.

Pizza Hut Vegan Pizza

Pizza Hut vegan pizza

Considering that Pizza Hut’s new plant-based pepperoni pizza is only available at selected locations for a limited time, your best bet is to learn how to order a vegan pizza at Pizza Hut from their standard menu. Pizza Hut’s menu doesn’t have any vegan pizza options. You can, however, order a vegan pizza at Pizza Hut. Following are the two ways to do it:

  1. Order a Veggie Lover Pizza without the cheese
  2. Create your own pizza

Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to create your own vegan pizza at Pizza Hut:

Step 1 – Choose Your Crust

Pizza Hut offers quite a few crust options that are made with all vegan-friendly ingredients. Your vegan pizza crust options at Pizza Hut include:

Note: Some of these crust options may not be available nationwide. Check your local Pizza Hut menu to find out the complete range of pizza crusts available to you.

Step 2 – Choose Your Pizza Sauce

The next step is to choose a flavorful pizza sauce to top your favorite vegan pizza crust with. Your options for vegan pizza sauce at Pizza Hut are limited, though. You can only choose from the following two pizza sauces:

  • Classic Marinara Sauce
  • Buffalo Pizza Sauce

Step 3 – Choose Your Pizza Toppings

Presuming that you’re only opting to create-your-own-pizza because the Beyond Pepperoni pizza is not available at your local Pizza Hut location, your pizza topping options are limited to veggies only. Vegan pizza topping options at Pizza Hut include the following:

  • Red Onion
  • Roma Tomatoes
  • Roasted Spinach
  • Green Bell Peppers
  • Jalapeno Peppers
  • Green Chile Peppers
  • Banana Peppers
  • Fresh Mushrooms
  • Green Olives
  • Black Olives
  • Pineapple

Load up your vegan pizza with as many of these veggies as you want and you have your customized vegan pizza from Pizza Hut.

What about Cheese? Doesn’t Pizza Hut Have Vegan Cheese?

Unfortunately, Pizza Hut does not offer any vegan cheese options in the US (yet). I really hope they include a vegan cheese in their menu soon, just like they did in the UK back in 2019. But, until then, you’ll have to make do without the cheese.

Don’t like pizza without cheese?

Bring your customized vegan pizza home (or get it delivered), top it off with your own vegan cheese, and place it in the oven for a few minutes (until the cheese is fully melted) to enjoy a cheesy vegan pizza; the perfect definition of ultimate comfort food.

Pro Tip for Vegans Concerned About Cross-Contamination

The Pizza Hut website clearly mentions that there is a probability of cross-contamination. This can be troubling for many vegans. If you’re concerned about it, here’s a tip for you…

Mention your dietary limitations while placing the order and ask the worker to wear disposable gloves and use a clean pizza pan and cutter to severely limit (if not eliminate) the chances of cross-contamination.

People with food allergies can also use this tip.

Vegan Dipping Sauces at Pizza Hut

Pizza Hut vegan sauce

Spice lovers can also get some dipping sauce on the side to go with their pizza, breadsticks, or fries. But, you don’t have choices here. There is only one Pizza Hut vegan sauce, and that is:

  • Buffalo Dipping Sauce

Some Pizza Hut locations may also offer Spicy Asian and Lemon Pepper sauces. If they’re available at your local Pizza Hut, you can get them, too, as they are vegan-friendly. However, do confirm before ordering.

Vegan Drinks at Pizza Hut

Pizza Hut vegan drinks

You don’t expect a diverse and exciting drinks menu at Pizza Hut. The pizza place only offers regular soft drinks, all of which are vegan-friendly, so pair your food with an icy cold drink of your choice to enjoy a complete vegan meal at Pizza Hut.

Pizza Hut Vegan Desserts

Pizza Hut vegan desserts

There is only one vegan dessert available at Pizza Hut, and that is:

§ The Good Ol’ Cinnamon Sticks

Your vegan order from Pizza Hut can include cinnamon sticks. They do not contain any non-vegan ingredients.

However, you will have to skip the delicious sweet white icing that comes with them because it contains dairy.

Frequently Asked Questions

§ Does Pizza Hut have vegan pizza?

Pizza Hut does not offer 100% vegan pizza at the moment. You can, however, get yourself a vegan pizza from Pizza Hut. Read the article to learn how.

§ Does Pizza Hut have a vegan crust?

Yes, Pizza Hut offers many pizza crusts that do not contain egg, dairy, or other animal-derived ingredients and hence, can be categorized as vegan-friendly.

§ Are all Pizza Hut crusts vegan?

No. Not all Pizza Hut crusts are vegan-friendly. Read the article for a complete list of Pizza Hut vegan crust options.

§ Does Pizza Hut have vegan pepperoni?

On August 10, 2021, Pizza Hut introduced a meatless pizza featuring Beyond Meat’s plant-based pepperoni, at selected locations and for a limited time.

While the pepperoni itself is vegan, the Beyond Pepperoni pizza is not, as it has dairy cheese. It is vegetarian-friendly.

§ Does Pizza Hut have vegan cheese?

As much as all of us cheese-loving vegans wish for it, Pizza Hut has not added a vegan cheese option to its menu in the US yet.

Pizza Hut does offer vegan cheese in the UK, though.

§ Is Pizza Hut marinara sauce vegan?

Yes. Pizza Hut’s Classic Marinara sauce is vegan-friendly. Here’s a list of its ingredients:

§ Are Pizza Hut breadsticks vegan?

Pizza Hut breadsticks are not vegan. However, they can be made vegan-friendly by skipping the seasoning, which contains different types of cheese. The breadsticks are vegan on their own.

§ Are Pizza Hut cinnamon sticks vegan?

Pizza Hut cinnamon sticks are vegan-friendly. But, the white dip they come with contains dairy. So, when you’re eating vegan at Pizza Hut, you’ll have to skip the icing.

§ Are Pizza Hut fries vegan?

Pizza Hut fries do not contain any non-vegan ingredients. They are also cooked in vegetable oil. However, it’s not confirmed if they are cooked in separate fryers or in the same fryers used for non-vegan products.

§ What sides are vegan at Pizza Hut?

There are very limited vegan sides options at Pizza Hut. These include fries, breadsticks, and pretzel bites (limited availability). Read the article to find out how you should go about ordering them and what modifications (if any) are needed to make them vegan-friendly.

§ Does Pizza Hut have vegan pasta?

Pizza Hut does not offer any vegan-friendly pasta.

Conclusion – Is Pizza Hut Vegan-Friendly?

Pizza Hut may not be an ideal place for vegans. However, it’s not the worst place either. While the restaurant doesn’t offer any vegan pizza as part of their standard menu (it’s high time they do so), you can order a vegan pizza from Pizza Hut. It will be without cheese, though, as Pizza Hut doesn’t offer vegan cheese in the US.

If you want a true pizza experience, your best bet is to get a vegan pizza from Pizza Hut and top it with your own vegan cheese. Order yourself some breadsticks with the vegan dipping sauce, an icy-cold beverage, and cinnamon sticks alongside too to enjoy a complete, hearty vegan meal. Pizza Hut really needs to step up its game in the US in terms of vegan-friendly options.

The fast-food industry is rapidly changing. With the ever-increasing popularity of veganism, restaurants are rapidly revising their menus and making them more inclusive for customers with varying dietary needs. If Pizza Hut wants to stay relevant in this changing scenario, it needs to incorporate some vegan-friendly options into its menu permanently. Until they do so, you’ll have to learn to make your way around their standard menu to order some vegan food for yourself.

Did you find this article helpful? Interested to learn about more fast food places and the vegan options they offer? Check out my article KFC vegan options to find out if the leading burger chain offers any vegan burger options!

Photo of author
Author Bio
Im Emma and I’m the creator of Vegan Calm. When I became a vegan seven years ago, I mainly did it for health and ethical reasons. To my surprise, it had another amazing benefit; I became a much calmer and peaceful person. This change inspired me to create Vegan Calm. Whether you’ve been a vegan for a long time or just want to learn more, this website will have something for you.

Check Out These Posts:

Are fortune cookies gluten-free
Are Dippin’ Dots Vegan
Is Tapioca Vegetarian