Popeyes Vegan Options 2024: Are There Any at All?

Freshly-baked buttermilk biscuits topped with crisp, juicy, and flavorful fried chicken make the ultimate comfort food for a large number of people.

And when it comes to enjoying this deliciousness at its finest, Popeyes is one of the first names that come to mind.

The New Orleans-based fast-food restaurant offers some excellent comfort food options. But has it jumped on the trend of vegan food yet?

Let’s find out all about Popeyes vegan options today!

Does Popeyes Have Vegan Options?

Popeyes is known for its quality food and great taste. But, sadly, none of the exciting food options are vegan-friendly. So, don’t get your hopes up.

At Popeyes, it’s all about chicken. But, the restaurant doesn’t offer vegan chicken. This information alone is enough for any plant-eater to determine how vegan-friendly Popeyes is. Simply put, there are only very few vegan options at Popeyes, and the list doesn’t include any mains.

What Can Vegans Eat at Popeyes, Then?

While no vegan would want to go to a restaurant that is known to not offer vegan-friendly food options, we all have been in situations where we end up at a non-vegan-friendly restaurant with a friend or family member. Therefore, it’s only wise to know your options, so you don’t have to spend a long time scrutinizing the menu to figure out what you can eat.

Here’s a list of all the Popeyes vegan options for your convenience:

  • Grits – requires confirmation
  • Baguette
  • Corn on the Cob – without butter
  • Jalapenos
  • Sauces
  • Beverages


The vegan status of Popeyes Hash Browns and French Fries is not clear. Some online sources claim that they are vegan on their own, but may be cooked in shared fryers while others assert that they contain or are cooked in animal fat. In this situation, your best option is to either steer clear of them or confirm at your local Popeyes location before ordering.

Want to know what you need to confirm before ordering Grits or what non-vegan items other non-meat items contain? Keep reading to find it out and get answers for all other questions you may have about eating vegan at Popeyes.

 Popeyes’ Vegan Options – A Quick Rundown

Here’s a detailed guide on what you can eat at Popeyes as a vegan and how you should go about ordering vegan food at Popeyes.

Please note that this detailed guide is prepared using the allergen and sensitivity information available on Popeyes website as well as some credible online sources.

§ Grits

Popeyes vegan breakfast

Cornmeal porridge isn’t something most people would prefer to order at a restaurant. However, it is a healthy and filling option and a good choice to begin your day with. Traditionally, grits can be made with water or milk. Some people also add butter to it. However, at Popeyes, it seems to be vegan. In fact, grits are the only (potential) vegan breakfast option at Popeyes.

According to Popeyes’ allergen guide, they do not contain milk, so it can be presumed that they are cooked in water and are vegan-friendly. However, I would recommend confirming their vegan status before ordering. Make sure they do not add butter, cream, cheese, animal fat, or any other animal-derived ingredients in the grits at your local Popeyes.

§ Baguette

Popeyes vegan bread

When it comes to bread, it’s hard to beat the traditional French baguette. Made with the simplest of ingredients, the crusty loaf is the star of the bread world. Moreover, it’s generally vegan-friendly. Get yourself some classic French bread along with grits for a wholesome vegan breakfast. You can get some applesauce on the side too.

§ Corn on the Cob

Popeyes vegan side

Corn on the cob is another food option that ranks high on both simplicity and deliciousness. Eat it as a side snack or a quick vegan lunch; you can never go wrong with this ultimate comfort food option. Just make sure to get it without butter.

§ Jalapenos

Popeyes vegan condiments

These are just simple, chopped up jalapeno peppers in a cup. Nothing extra-ordinary about this Popeyes vegan option, but if you’re a spice lover, you can get these with a baguette along with a vegan sauce for a quick DIY vegan sandwich.

§ Popeyes Vegan Sauces

Popeyes vegan sauces

There aren’t very many vegan sauces available at Popeyes. But, the few vegan sauce options that they have are good enough to make any boring food item exciting and flavorful.

Popeyes vegan sauces include:

  • Barbeque Sauce
  • Sweet Heat Sauce
  • Cocktail Sauce
  • Applesauce

§ Beverages

Popeyes vegan drinks

If you have been to Popeyes, you would know that their beverages menu is pretty standard. All you have are the classic soft drinks along with a couple of more beverages. All of them are vegan-friendly.

Here’s a complete list of vegan drinks available at Popeyes for your reference:

  • Coke
  • Diet Coke
  • Pepsi
  • Diet Pepsi
  • Fanta Orange
  • Fanta Strawberry
  • Sprite
  • Mountain Dew
  • Dr. Pepper
  • Hawaiian Punch
  • Orange Juice
  • Sweet Tea
  • Unsweetened Tea
  • Coffee

Popeyes Menu Items That May Look Vegan, But are Not

Following are some of the items on Popeyes’ menu that many people may mistake as vegan-friendly as they do not contain any animal-derived ingredients. However, almost all online sources classify them as non-vegan because they are most likely cooked in animal fat. These include:

  • Cajun Fries
  • Hash Browns
  • Cajun Rice

Here are some Popeyes menu items that may look vegan, but they actually contain non-vegan ingredients:

  • Mardi Gras Mustard Sauce – contains egg
  • Hot Cinnamon Apple Pie – contains milk
  • Coleslaw – contains egg
  • Red Beans & Rice – contain pork fat
  • Onion Rings – contain milk and egg

Frequently Asked Questions

§ Does Popeyes have vegan fried chicken?

No. Popeyes doesn’t offer vegan fried chicken.

However, a petition has recently been launched, asking Popeyes to include vegan chicken in its menu. While only time will tell if it’s going to work in vegans’ favor or not, the effort is admirable.

§ Does Popeyes have a vegan chicken sandwich?

Popeyes doesn’t offer vegan chicken sandwiches or any other vegan meat product.  Sadly, the restaurant hasn’t stepped into the vegan food industry yet.

We hope Popeyes revises its menu soon, but until then, you can satisfy your cravings by making your own vegan chicken sandwich at home. Here’s a recipe for a delicious vegan chicken sandwich, for reference:

§ Are Popeyes red beans and rice vegan?

Contrary to what many people may presume, Popeyes beans and rice are not vegan-friendly. The red bean sauce used in the dish contains pork fat.

§ Does Popeyes beans and rice have meat?

The red beans and rice available at Popeyes does not contain meat. However, it contains pork fat, which makes the otherwise plant-based dish non-vegan.

§ Are Popeyes mashed potatoes vegan?

Mashed potatoes are not vegan at Popeyes – they contain milk.

§ Are Popeyes fries vegan?

Popeyes offers delicious Cajun fries, which seem vegan-friendly, as they do not contain any animal-derived ingredients. However, most online sources classify them as non-vegan because they are most likely cooked in animal fat.

§ Are Popeyes biscuits vegan?

Popeyes offer the classic buttermilk biscuits, which are not vegan as they contain milk.

§ Is Popeyes coleslaw vegan?

No. Popeyes coleslaw is not vegan-friendly; it contains egg.

§ Is Popeyes gravy vegan?

The thick, luscious gravy that they offer at Popeyes is not vegan. It contains too many non-vegan ingredients, including pork base, smoked pork Tasso, ground chicken gizzards, turkey base, turkey stock, beef base, whey, and gelatin.

§ Is Popeyes BBQ sauce vegan?

Popeyes’ sweet and tangy BBQ sauce is vegan.

§ Is Popeyes sweet heat sauce vegan?

Popeyes’ Sweet Heat sauce is not only delicious but is also 100% vegan-friendly.

§ Is Popeyes apple pie vegan?

Popeyes apple pie is not vegan. According to the restaurant’s allergen guide, it contains milk.

§ Does Popeyes have vegan desserts?

Sadly, Popeyes doesn’t offer any vegan desserts either. All of the available sweet options contain milk, eggs, or both.

§ Is Popeyes mac and cheese vegetarian?

Yes. Popeyes’ rich, creamy, hearty, and flavorful mac and cheese is suitable for vegetarians. It does not contain any meat product.

§ Are Popeyes fries vegetarian?

Popeyes’ fries do not contain any meat product. However, they’re likely cooked in animal fat, making them unsuitable for both vegans and vegetarians. To further ensure it, ask at your local Popeyes.

§ Are Popeyes biscuits vegetarian?

The only animal product found in Popeyes’ biscuits is buttermilk, which is allowed on a vegetarian diet. Hence, Popeyes’ biscuits are suitable for vegetarians.

Conclusion – Is Popeyes Vegan-Friendly?

Popeyes is not only non-vegan friendly, it can easily be termed as one of the worst restaurants for vegans.

As discussed in the article, they hardly have any vegan options. Even the few food items that accidentally meet the vegan dietary guidelines are not something you would want to go to a restaurant for.

If you somehow end up at Popeyes with a non-vegan family member or friend, you will have to rely on just grits or corn on the cob or make your way around with baguette, jalapeno, and vegan sauces to create a (sort of) vegan sandwich.

To sum up, it wouldn’t be wrong to say that never go to Popeyes if you have a choice. It’s not a place for vegans!

Did you find this detailed vegan breakdown of Popeyes’ menu useful? Want to learn about vegan options at other restaurants too? Check out my article Wendy’s Vegan Options to find out what you can eat at this popular fast-food chain restaurant as a vegan.

Photo of author
Author Bio
Im Emma and I’m the creator of Vegan Calm. When I became a vegan seven years ago, I mainly did it for health and ethical reasons. To my surprise, it had another amazing benefit; I became a much calmer and peaceful person. This change inspired me to create Vegan Calm. Whether you’ve been a vegan for a long time or just want to learn more, this website will have something for you!

Check Out These Posts:

Are Glazed Donuts Vegan
Are Mission Flour Tortillas Vegan
Are Fruit Snacks Vegan