I am a sucker for sauces. Whether I am eating at home or outside, I go all out on sauces, sometimes to the point that my friends say I eat more sauce than the actual food.
You may not be like me, but if you’re anywhere close, you would want to know your vegan sauce options at restaurants, too.
Considering KFC is a popular dine-out spot, I decided to put together a quick reference guide for it for my fellow sauce lovers. Read on to find out what KFC sauces are vegan.
Which KFC Dipping Sauces are Vegan?
KFC doesn’t have very many food options for vegans, and it no longer offers the Beyond Chicken Nuggets that it brought to about 4,000 restaurants across the country earlier this year.
But many of us may still find ourselves there for some fries or with someone, so it’s good to know our options.
The next time you end up at KFC, do not just stick to ketchup; try other sauces as well. Here are all your vegan sauce options at KFC:
- BBQ Sauce
- Sweet & Tangy Sauce
- Hot Sauce – Not available at all locations
- Marzetti Light Italian Dressing
- Lemon Juice Packet
- Grape Jelly
- Strawberry Jam
Is KFC Sauce Vegan?
Knowing that KFC brought vegan nuggets to please their non-meat-eating customers, you would also think they might have made a dairy and egg-free variety of their special sauce to eat with those plant-based nuggets. But that didn’t become a reality. KFC never introduced a vegan variety of its special sauce.
KFC sauce is not vegan as it contains eggs.
Which KFC Sauces are Not Vegan?
The following KFC sauces are confirmed non-vegan:
- KFC Sauce – Contains egg
- Honey Mustard
- Honey BBQ
- Colonel’s Buttery Spread (evidently) – Contains milk
All of KFC’s dressings, apart from the Marzetti Light Italian one, are non-vegan. They all contain dairy.
Does KFC Offer Vegan Burger?
Unfortunately, KFC doesn’t offer any plant-based burgers in the US at the moment. It’s frustrating, especially considering that the fast food chain previously tested plant-based chicken at some of its US locations, and it worked pretty well.
Moreover, KFC offers a Quorn chicken burger in the UK. As exasperating as that is, vegans in the US are stuck with just a few sides at KFC, at least for now.
It’s disappointing, I know, but don’t be sad. You can make a vegan burger at home. Check out the following video for an excellent vegan fried chicken recipe…
What Foods Can Vegans Eat at KFC?
KFC is all about chicken – it’s literally in its name, so you shouldn’t expect to find much for vegans here. The fast food chain doesn’t offer any plant-based burgers.
The vegan nuggets are off the menu, too, and there’s no alternative to their famous fried chicken. This leaves you with just a few sides. These include:
- French Fries
- BBQ Baked Beans
- Green Beans
- Sweet Kernel Corn – order without butter
- Corn on the Cob – order without butter
- House Salad – Skip the croutons and make sure there’s no cheese
I have done a detailed post on KFC’s Vegan Options. Check that out for a more detailed insight into KFC’s menu and meatless food items.
Are KFC Fries Vegan?
The fries at KFC are vegan. They are neither cooked in animal fat nor contain any non-vegan seasoning.
However, they might be cooked in shared fryers (at some locations, if not all). If you avoid foods cooked in shared containers due to cross-contamination, it’s best to check with your local KFC and confirm their fries’ cooking process.
Vegan options at KFC are very limited and boring in the US. But if you’re there with someone, you know what food and sauces to order and which ones to refrain from.
Considering KFC is a disappointment for vegans, you may want to know about vegan options at other fast food places. Check out my article Vegan Options at Whataburger to find out what it has on the menu for plant eaters.