Arby’s Vegan Menu 2024: Is It the Worst?

You don’t expect a restaurant with a ‘We Have the Meats’ tagline and a history of mocking plant-eaters to offer vegan food options. However, there are a few accidentally vegan options on Arby’s menu. Let’s take a look at them, so if you ever happen to find yourself at the fast-food restaurant, you don’t have to spend hours figuring out Arby’s vegan menu.

What Can Vegans Eat at Arby’s?

 Vegan options at Arby’s include:

  • Side Salad – with modification
  • Curly Fries
  • Crinkle Fries
  • Cherry Turnover
  • Apple Turnover
  • Sauces
  • Beverages

This is all what vegans can eat at Arby’s. Let’s briefly discuss these accidentally vegan items on Arby’s menu to make sure they do not contain anything against vegan dietary principles. In the last section of the article, I will also answer some common questions about Arby’s vegan options to make sure there is no confusion and you clearly know what you can and cannot eat at the fast-food restaurant.

Arby’s Vegan Menu – A Detailed Breakdown

▪ Side Salad

Arby’s side salad

Let’s start with the least exciting option on Arby’s menu (or any restaurant’s menu per se). This is just a simple salad with leaf lettuce, iceberg lettuce, tomatoes, cheddar cheese, and buttermilk ranch dressing. When ordering it vegan style, you’ll have to skip the cheese and dressing, which will leave you with just tomatoes and lettuce (who would want to eat that?)

You can, however, order a vegan salad dressing (listed below) on the side to add a little flavor to the veggie mix.

▪ Curly Fries

Arby’s curly fries

Unless you’ve been living under a rock or genuinely hate fries (which is almost impossible), you must have had Arby’s legendary curly fries. They are delicious; no two views about it. And they are vegan too!

They are cooked in vegetable oil and seasoned with a spice mix made with onion powder, garlic powder, and a few other natural ingredients, none of which seem to be coming from animal sources.

Here’s a complete list of Arby’s curly fries ingredients:


While Arby’s curly fries are vegan-friendly on their own, they come with a disclaimer on the website stating that the fryer they are cooked in may also be used for items containing fish, milk, and/or eggs.

▪ Crinkle Fries

vegan sides at Arby’s

A recent addition to Arby’s menu (made earlier this year), these crispy, salted crinkle fries have taken Arby’s French fries game to a whole new level. Simple and delicious, these are the perfect definition of comfort food for a potato lover like me. Similar to Arby’s curly fries, these do not contain any non-vegan ingredient.

However, they also come with the disclaimer that they may be cooked in the same fryer with items containing milk, eggs, and/or fish.

▪ Arby’s Vegan Desserts

vegan desserts at Arby’s

Arby’s may not have any vegan entrée, but it has what some of the most vegan-friendly fast food restaurant’s menu lacks – vegan desserts!

Your accidentally vegan dessert options at Arby’s include:

  • Apple Turnover
  • Cherry Turnover

These are crispy, flaky, freshly-baked pastries stuffed with delicious fruity filling, offering a powerful burst of flavors. Rest assured, the flaky pastry doesn’t contain any animal-derived ingredients. Here is complete list of ingredients for both the vegan desserts on Arby’s menu for your reference:

▪ Arby’s Vegan Sauces and Dressings

vegan sauces at Arby’s

Pair up your fries and top the salad with the following vegan sauces and dressings at Arby’s for an extra punch of flavor (there are some really good and unique options):

  • Ketchup
  • Tangy Barbeque Sauce
  • Marinara Sauce
  • Spicy Three Pepper Sauce
  • Red Ranch Sauce
  • Bronco Berry Sauce
  • Smoky Q Sauce
  • Arby’s Sauce
  • Spicy Korean BBQ Sauce – doesn’t contain any non-vegan ingredient, but has alcohol in it, so you may prefer to avoid it if you’re a straight edge vegan.
  • Tree Top Applesauce (from Kids’ menu)
  • Light Italian Dressing
  • Balsamic Vinaigrette

▪ Vegan Beverages at Arby’s

Arby’s vegan drinks

Vegan drinks options at Arby’s include:

  • Coca-Cola
  • Coca-Cola Zero Sugar
  • Diet Coke
  • Sprite
  • Dr. Pepper
  • Diet Dr. Pepper
  • Fanta Orange
  • Minute Maid Zero
  • Barq’s Root Beer
  • Mello Yello
  • Hi-C Flashin’ Fruit Punch
  • Powerade
  • Iced Tea
  • Honest Kids Organic Apple Juice Drink (from Kids’ menu)

Arby’s Menu Items That May Look Vegan, But Are Not

The following Arby’s menu items (sauces) may be mistaken as vegan-friendly by some people. However, they contain animal-derived ingredients and hence, are not suitable for vegans.

  • Buffalo Sauce – contains milk
  • Buffalo Dipping Sauce – contains milk
  • Spicy Buffalo Sauce – contains milk
  • Gyro Sauce – contains milk and egg
  • Horsey Sauce – contains egg

Frequently Asked Questions about Arby’s Vegan Menu

Let’s wrap up the article by answering some of the questions that a lot of people ask about Arby’s vegan options.

▪ Does Arby’s have an Impossible Burger?

Arby’s doesn’t have an Impossible Burger or any vegan burger, slider, or wrap on its menu.

▪ Are Arby’s fries vegan?

Arby’s fries are vegan on their own. They are cooked in vegetable oil and do not contain any non-vegan ingredients in seasonings as well. However, they may be cooked in the same fryer with items containing milk, egg, and fish at some locations. If you strictly avoid this, it’s better to confirm at your local Arby’s before ordering.

Conclusion – Is Arby’s Vegan-Friendly?

Arby’s isn’t vegan-friendly for sure. In fact, it wouldn’t be wrong to say that they are anti-vegan. In case you didn’t already know, the restaurant published a satirical open letter mocking vegetarians back in 2015. Later, in 2019, the restaurant issued an official statement saying it would never incorporate plant-based foods into its menu.

Arby’s didn’t just stop at issuing statements and mocking plant-eaters’ choices verbally. The restaurant went a step ahead and introduced a fake carrot, called Marrot, made using meat, saying, “if they can make meat from veggies (and other stuff), we can make veggies from meat”.

In view of all these actions, it can be safely said that Arby’s is not just inconsiderate of people’s varying dietary choices; it finds it okay to mock their choices. The restaurant is clearly not vegan-friendly, and it will never be.

Did you find this article helpful? Interested to learn about the vegan items on other popular restaurants’ menus as well? Check out my article Chick-fil-A Vegan Options to find out if the popular chicken sandwich place has anything for its vegan consumers.

Photo of author
Author Bio
Im Emma and I’m the creator of Vegan Calm. When I became a vegan seven years ago, I mainly did it for health and ethical reasons. To my surprise, it had another amazing benefit; I became a much calmer and peaceful person. This change inspired me to create Vegan Calm. Whether you’ve been a vegan for a long time or just want to learn more, this website will have something for you!

Check Out These Posts:

Are Glazed Donuts Vegan
Are Mission Flour Tortillas Vegan
Are Fruit Snacks Vegan