Baskin-Robbins Vegan Options – Do They Include Vegan Ice Cream?

You don’t have to have a sweet tooth to be hit with ice cream cravings. It’s a phenomenon that transcends all standards and boundaries (that’s how a foodie trying to be philosophical sounds like).

But, what do you do when you crave ice cream, but can’t have just any because you’re a vegan? You go to Baskin-Robbins! Because the world’s largest ice cream chain gives you choices for vegan ice cream.

Baskin-Robbins vegan options may be limited, but they will surely satisfy your ice cream cravings.

In case you didn’t already know (which is highly unlikely), Baskin-Robbins stepped into the world of plant-based foods in August 2019 with two vegan ice cream flavors. And things have only been gradually improving for plant-eaters at Baskin-Robbins since then.

The huge success of two non-dairy ice cream flavors pushed Baskin-Robbins to introduce another vegan ice cream flavor just after three months, i.e., in November 2019. After a gap of one year, as things went haywire in 2020, Baskin-Robbins came back with a bang and became the country’s first major ice cream chain to offer oat milk ice cream.

The brand introduced two oat milk ice cream options this year, one each in May and August.

Baskin-Robbins’ vegan ice cream may get the spotlight, but it’s not the only plant-based option that the chain offers. Let’s dig a little deeper into their menu to find out all vegan options at Baskin-Robbins.

What Can Vegans Eat at Baskin-Robbins?

Your vegan options at Baskin-Robbins include:

  • Non-Dairy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream
  • Non-Dairy Strawberry Streusel
  • Non-Dairy Salted Fudge Bar
  • Raspberry Sorbet
  • Miami Vice Sorbet (Not available everywhere)
  • Watermelon Swirl Sorbet (Seasonal)
  • Watermelon Splash Ice
  • Daiquiri Ice
  • Horchata Ice (Seasonal)
  • Cake Cone
  • Vegans Toppings
  • Vegan beverages

 Note

Baskin-Robbins also introduced Non-Dairy Chocolate Extreme Ice Cream and Non-Dairy Coffee Caramel Chunk Ice Cream flavors. But, sadly, they have been discontinued. (But, why?)

Now that we know what vegan options does Baskin-Robbin offer, let’s get to our usual practice and take a look at what each of these non-dairy items on Baskin-Robbins’ menu are made of to make sure we don’t mistakenly end up consuming any non-vegan ingredients.  

Baskin-Robbins Vegan Options – A Detailed Analysis

Baskin-Robbins Vegan Ice Cream Flavors

Baskin-Robbins vegan ice cream

Baskin-Robbins have introduced five non-dairy ice creams until now. However, as mentioned earlier, two of them have sadly been discontinued. At present, you can enjoy the following three Baskin-Robbins vegan ice cream flavors:

▪ Non-Dairy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream

Hear y’all cookie dough fans out there – you can’t get any better vegan cookie dough ice cream than this!

Baskin-Robbins’ Non-Dairy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough ice cream doubles the flavor (and fun) by providing a fresh chocolate cookie dough base packed with chocolate chunks, chocolate ribbon and cookie dough pieces. And it’s all vegan! What more do you want?

Get your hands on this rich, gooey, chocolaty, vegan ice cream from Baskin-Robbins for an unbeatable experience.

For those of you who are wondering, the ice cream base is made of coconut oil and almond butter.

Here’s a complete list of Baskin-Robbins’ Non-Dairy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough ice cream ingredients for reference…

▪ Non-Dairy Strawberry Streusel

Launched earlier this year, this was not just Basking-Robbin’s first oat-milk-based flavor, but the very first oat milk ice cream by any major ice cream brand in the US.

Since it’s made with (non-dairy) milk and not coconut oil, you can expect a similarly rich, smooth, and creamy flavor and texture as traditional ice cream. The delicious oat milk base is further enhanced by the sweet and slightly tangy strawberry flavor, streusel crumbs, and cinnamon granola (is your mouth watering yet?)

Baskin-Robbins describe it as the elevated non-dairy version of their immensely popular Very Berry Strawberry flavor. If you liked that flavor during your pre-vegan days or have seen your friends or family members raving about it, give this Non-Dairy Strawberry Streusel a try to find out what the hype is all about.

Here’s the complete list of Baskin-Robbin’s vegan Strawberry Streusel ice cream ingredients for those who may want to take a look:

▪ Non-Dairy Salted Fudge Bar

Extending their oat-milk-based ice cream range, Baskin-Robbins launched Non-Dairy Salted Fudge Bar ice cream only about a couple of months after the Strawberry Streusel flavor. Smooth, creamy, chocolaty, fudgy with a hint of salt that takes the flavor further up a notch, this one’s a sure-fire winner for all the chocolate loving vegans.

Oh! Did I tell you it’s also packed with chunks of chocolate fudge?

It’s hard (if not impossible) to find a vegan chocolate-flavored ice cream any better than this. Here are all the ingredients for Baskin-Robbin’s Salted Fudge Bar vegan ice cream:

Baskin-Robbins Vegan Sorbets

Baskin-Robbins vegan sorbet

Ice cream may be the star of the world of frozen desserts, but the humble sorbet has a separate fan-base. It particularly holds a special place in vegans’ heart because it is almost always vegan (when made the traditional way).  Whether you love this fruity, icy, dessert or want to take a break from ice cream and try something different, Baskin-Robbins has the following offerings for you:

▪ Raspberry Sorbet

Offering a perfect combination of sweet and sour flavors, this refreshing sorbet not just tastes good, but also looks gorgeous with a dark red color. It’s a perfect summer treat for anyone, not just vegans.

It is the only Baskin-Robbins sorbet flavor available nationwide all year round.

Here is the full list of Baskin-Robbins’ Raspberry Sorbet ingredients:

▪ Watermelon Swirl Sorbet

Featuring a sweet watermelon base swirled with a tart raspberry-flavored ribbon, this vegan frozen desert from Baskin-Robbins hits all the right spots. But, sadly, it’s a seasonal menu item. Get your hands on it as soon as it appears on the menu, and I promise you will be going back for it quite often.

Ingredients for Baskin-Robbins Watermelon Swirl sorbet are:

▪ Miami Vice Sorbet

Made with Pina Colada Sorbet and Strawberry Daiquiri, one bite of Baskin-Robbins Miami Vice sorbet will instantly transport you to a tropical island. But, sadly, this vegan sorbet is not available everywhere. If your local Baskin-Robbins has it, do give it a try.

Baskin-Robbins Ices

Baskin-Robbins vegan ice

The grainier counterparts of sorbets, ices are the real OGs of the vegan frozen dessert world. They have been satisfying vegans’ frozen desserts cravings from the time when vegan ice creams were non-existent. The older people can take a trip down the memory lane while the younger ones can familiarize themselves with a new vegan dessert with the following Baskin-Robbins’ ice flavors:

▪ Watermelon Splash Ice

Baskin-Robbins’ Watermelon Splash ice offers a truly unique combination that many people have likely not even heard of – watermelon and chocolate.

It features a watermelon-flavored base with watermelon and chocolate flavored candy bits. Sounds interesting? Go ahead and give it a try because it’s non-dairy. Here’s a complete list of its ingredients:

▪ Daiquiri Ice

Have you been avoiding or not letting your child eat Baskin-Robbins’ Daiquiri ice because you think it has alcohol? Contrary to what the name suggests (and hence, many people believe), Baskin-Robbins’ Daiquiri ice doesn’t have alcohol in it. They use a rum flavoring in it instead of actual rum, making it suitable for both kids and straight edge vegans. Not convinced?

Take a look at Baskin-Robbins’ Daiquiri ice ingredients yourself to confirm…

Now that you know that this vegan dessert is alcohol-free, try this delicious classic cocktail ice flavor for a refreshing sweet treat.  

▪ Horchata Ice

Inspired by the popular Spanish and Mexican Horchata beverage, this ice flavor offers a much more complex flavor than others on Baskin-Robbins’ vegan menu. It has a sweet and earthy flavor with a citrusy note coming from cinnamon and coconut cream’s freshness. Simply put, Baskin-Robbins’ Horchata ice truly packs a punch.

The only downside is that it’s a seasonal menu item, only available during spring and summer.

Vegan Cones at Baskin-Robbins

Baskin-Robbins vegan toppings

Is ice cream better in a cone or a cup? Okay! Let’s not get into that debate and get straight to the point.

Baskin-Robbins offers a few different types of cones for those who like their ice cream in a cone. But, sadly, only one of them is vegan-friendly.

▪ Cake Cone

Characterized by its flat bottom, Baskin-Robbins’ Cake Cone has a wafer-like texture and tends to be crispier than the Sugar Cone. While this is the only vegan ice cream cone on Baskin-Robbins’ menu, it comes in three varieties:

  • Regular
  • Chocolate-dipped cake cone
  • Fancy cake cone

According to online sources, all three varieties of Baskin-Robbins’ Cake Cone are vegan-friendly. However, I would suggest confirming at your local Baskin-Robbins before ordering, as things may vary in different areas.

Vegan Toppings at Baskin-Robbins

Baskin-Robbins vegan cone

The exact range of vegan toppings may vary across different locations. However, you will most likely find the following vegan toppings at all Baskin-Robbins outlets:

  • Chocolate Sprinkles
  • Rainbow Sprinkles
  • Chocolate Syrup
  • REESE’s Peanut Butter Sauce
  • Chopped Almonds
  • Maraschino Cherries
  • Oreo Cookie Pieces

Vegan Beverages at Baskin-Robbins

Baskin-Robbins vegan drinks

Baskin-Robbins doesn’t have an extensive range of vegan-friendly beverages, but the few ones that it has will surely satisfy your craving for a good drink. Here are your options:

  • ▪ Tropical Fruit Blast
  • Strawberry Citrus Fruit Blast
  • Mango Fruit Blast
  • Mangonada

In addition to these non-dairy drinks, you can also find Dunkin’ brand’s coffees at most Baskin-Robbins locations (for those who do not know, BR owns Dunkin). Technically, you can have any coffee as long as you’re not adding milk to it. But, here are the options that you’re most likely to find:

  • Original Blend Coffee
  • Dark Roast Coffee
  • Hazelnut Coffee
  • French Vanilla Coffee
  • Box O’ Joe Coffee
  • Dunkin’ Decaf Coffee

Baskin-Robbins Items That May Look Vegan, But Are Not

Like most other restaurants, there are some items on Baskin-Robins’ menu that may confuse some vegans. I am listing them down here so you know that these are essentially non-vegan and can refrain from consuming them…

  • Sugar Cone – contains honey.
  • Waffle Cone – contain eggs and milk.
  • Sherbets – Sherbets are often confused with Sorbets. However, both are different. Sherbets contain dairy ingredients. Baskin-Robbins’ Sherbets have whey, cream, and non-fat milk.

Frequently Asked Questions

Before wrapping up the article, let’s answer some of the questions you may still have about Baskin-Robbins’ vegan menu to clear all the confusion about what vegans can eat at Baskin-Robbins and what is off-limits for the plant-eaters.

▪ Are Baskin-Robbins’ smoothies vegan?

Baskin-Robbins’ smoothies contain yogurt, which is a form of dairy, so they are not suitable for vegans.

▪ Are Baskin-Robbins’ sherbets vegan?

Baskin-Robbins sherbets are not vegan-friendly. They contain dairy.

▪ Does Baskin-Robbins have vegan ice cream cakes?

Sadly, Baskin-Robbins doesn’t offer any non-dairy ice cream cake.

Conclusion – Is Baskin-Robbins Vegan-Friendly?

Baskin-Robbins may not have an extensive vegan menu, but it is pretty vegan-friendly. They do offer a good variety of non-dairy options for plant-eaters, including vegan ice cream, which is quite difficult to find. What more reasons can vegans need to visit Baskin-Robbins? 

Also, considering that Baskin-Robbins is gradually adding more vegan options to their menu, we can expect several new exciting flavors in the future.

Baskin-Robbins is certainly one of the best places (if not the best) for vegans to get their sugar fix.

Did you find this article helpful? Interested to learn about what vegans options other popular food chains offer? Check out my article IHOP Vegan Options to find out what it has in store for vegans and if they have vegan pancakes!

Photo of author
Author Bio
Im Emma and I’m the creator of Vegan Calm. When I became a vegan seven years ago, I mainly did it for health and ethical reasons. To my surprise, it had another amazing benefit; I became a much calmer and peaceful person. This change inspired me to create Vegan Calm. Whether you’ve been a vegan for a long time or just want to learn more, this website will have something for you.

Check Out These Posts:

Denny’s Vegan Options
Buffalo Wild Wings Vegan Menu
Applebee’s Vegan Options