Jimmy John’s Vegan Options 2024 – Are There Any?

With over 2,800 locations in 43 states in the U.S., Jimmy John’s is an easily accessible eatery for many people. Whether you’re craving for a sub or need a quick, filling meal, Jimmy John’s has you covered. The place offers a variety of sandwiches and subs, which can even be delivered to your doorstep.

But, what does the sandwich place has in store for their vegan customers? Is Jimmy John’s vegan-friendly?

This is precisely what we’re going to discuss today. Let’s get started with our breakdown of Jimmy Johns’ menu and figure out if the place is worth going to for vegans.

Does Jimmy John’s Have Vegan Options?

Jimmy John’s does have vegan options on its menu.

But, they aren’t great or even enough to attract vegans to the sandwich shop.

What Is Vegan at Jimmy John’s?

Knowing that Jimmy John’s isn’t vegan-friendly, you most probably won’t make a special visit to the sandwich place. But if you end up at Jimmy John’s with your family or friends or at a place where there is no other food option available, you should know what you can eat there.

Jimmy John’s vegan options include:

  • Veggie sub – without mayo and cheese
  • Bread
  • Vegetable toppings
  • Avocado spread
  • A few varieties of chips

That’s all what vegans can eat at Jimmy John’s.

If you’ve been a vegan for a length of time, you would know how common it is that non-vegan items are sneaked into foods generally classified as vegan-friendly. Therefore, it’s important to investigate properly and make sure that the foods you’re considering eating do not contain any animal-derived ingredients.

To give you a clear idea about Jimmy John’s vegan menu, I am going to discuss each item listed above and answer the most commonly asked questions. I will also briefly talk about the controversy regarding Jimmy John’s owner and why some vegans choose not to eat from the sandwich place at all.

If you want to know it all, keep reading!

Vegan Sandwiches at Jimmy John’s

Jimmy John’s sandwich

Jimmy John’s doesn’t offer any sandwich or sub that’s wholly vegan. However, they do offer a veggie sandwich.

§ Jimmy Johns Veggie Sandwich

Called #6 The Veggie, Jimmy John’s veggie sandwich can be made vegan with some changes.

The standard veggie sandwich contains lettuce, tomato, cucumber, avocado, provolone cheese, and mayo. If you’re ordering it vegan, you need to hold back on cheese and mayo.

You probably wouldn’t want to eat a piece of dry bread with some plain veggies inside, though. So, to make your veggie sandwich a little interesting and add some flavor, I suggest adding a few more veggies and a vegan sauce.

Better yet, you can create your own custom sandwich!

How to Order a Vegan Sandwich at Jimmy John’s?

Here’s how you can go about ordering a custom Jimmy John’s vegan sandwich:

§ Choose Your Bread – Jimmy John’s Vegan Bread Options

Jimmy John’s vegan bread

Most online sources classify all the bread varieties available at Jimmy John’s as vegan. However, according to my research, their 9-Grain Wheat Sub contains honey, which means it isn’t vegan-friendly.

Your options for vegan breads at Jimmy John’s include:

  • French bread
  • Thick, sliced wheat bread

If you’re a health-conscious vegan, you can also choose to get Unwich at Jimmy John’s, which is a sandwich made in a lettuce wrap.

Note: It’s important to note here that there had also been controversy over the vegan status of Jimmy John’s bread. In the past, some sources claimed that they are not vegan-friendly. However, according to the restaurant’s allergen guide, their French and sliced wheat bread does not contain milk or eggs.They are not labeled as a vegan because they are prepared in a facility where they also use eggs. This means there is a slight risk of cross-contamination. Most vegans do not mind it. But if it bothers you, your only option for a sandwich at Jimmy John’s is the lettuce wrap. 

§ Choose Your Fillings

Jimmy John’s vegan toppings

Your fillings for a vegan sandwich at Jimmy John’s are basically the veggies they use as toppings in regular sandwiches and subs. Here’s what you can choose from:

  • Lettuce
  • Tomato
  • Cucumber
  • Onion
  • Pickles
  • Jimmy Peppers

§ Choose Your Sauce/Spread

Jimmy John’s vegan sauces

What’s a sandwich without sauce? Enhance the flavor of your sandwich by adding some vegan sauce to it.

Your options for vegan sauces at Jimmy John’s aren’t many, but they will do.

Jimmy John’s vegan sauces include:

  • Jimmy Mustard
  • Yellow mustard
  • Grey Poupon
  • Avocado spread
  • Oil & vinegar

Jimmy John’s also has oregano-basil seasoning, which you can add to sandwiches for an extra kick of flavor.

Vegan Sides at Jimmy John’s

Jimmy John’s vegan sides

Now that we have it cleared how you can order a vegan sandwich at Jimmy John’s, let’s discuss what you can pair your sandwich with.

Unfortunately, Jimmy John’s menu is a disappointment for vegans as well (their sides menu isn’t that impressive either). All you have is chips.

Vegan Jimmy John’s chips varieties include:

  • Regular Jimmy Chips
  • BBQ Jimmy Chips
  • Jalapeno Jimmy Chips
  • Thinny Chips

§ Vegan Drinks at Jimmy John’s

Jimmy John’s vegan drinks

Don’t come to Jimmy John’s with the hope of finding some exciting drinks and beverages. Their drink menu is also pretty basic and only includes regular sodas. Here are your options:

  • Coca-Cola
  • Diet Coke
  • Sprite
  • Dr. Pepper
  • Bottled water

Items on Jimmy John’s Menu That May Appear Vegan but Are Not

The following items on Jimmy John’s menu can be easily mistaken as vegan-friendly. However, they are not vegan.

  • Salt & Vinegar Jimmy Chips – As per the restaurant’s allergen guide, they contain milk (strange, isn’t it?).
  • Creole Pepper Sauce – The spicy sauce has eggs in it.
  • 9-Grain Bread – As discussed above, it contains honey.

Frequently Asked Questions

Let’s answer the most common questions vegans ask about Jimmy John’s menu to end the discussion over the vegan status of various food items once and for all.

§ Does Jimmy John’s Have Vegan Bread?

Yes, Jimmy John’s does offer vegan bread options.

§ Is Jimmy John’s French Bread Vegan?

Yes. Jimmy John’s French bread is vegan. As highlighted in their allergen guide, it doesn’t contain eggs or dairy.

§ Is Jimmy John’s 9-Grain Bread Vegan?

Jimmy John’s 9-Grain Bread is not vegan. It contains honey.

§ Does Jimmy John’s Have a Veggie Sandwich?

Yes! Jimmy John’s offers a veggie sandwich as part of its standard menu. It’s called #6 The Veggie.

§ Is Jimmy John’s Veggie Sandwich Vegan?

Jimmy John’s veggie sandwich comes with mayo and cheese, making it non-vegan-friendly. However, you can easily modify it according to vegan dietary guidelines. Just hold back on cheese and mayo and choose a vegan sauce instead.

§ Does Jimmy John’s Offer Vegan Meat?

I wish! At present, Jimmy John’s doesn’t offer any vegan meat alternative.

§ Are Jimmy Johns BBQ Chips Vegan?

Jimmy John’s BBQ Chips are vegan.

§ Are Jimmy John’s Salt and Vinegar Chips Vegan?

According to Jimmy John’s allergen guide, their Salt & Vinegar chips contain milk, making them non-vegan.

§ Is Jimmy John’s Avocado Spread Vegan?

Jimmy John’s avocado spread doesn’t include eggs or dairy, as per their allergen guide. This means that they are vegan-friendly.

A Final Word – Is Jimmy John’s Vegan-Friendly?

Like most other fast-food places in the U.S., Jimmy John’s cannot be classified as vegan-friendly. You don’t get many good vegan options at Jimmy John’s.

 While I won’t advise any vegan to go there, rest assured that you wouldn’t be coming back home hungry if you happen to go to Jimmy John’s with some of your non-vegan friends, colleagues, or family members.

The meal might not be as satisfying, but it will fill your stomach until you find some really good vegan food.

Still need help with ordering vegan at Jimmy John’s? Check out the following video to get some tips and a quick review of how their vegan sandwich taste.

Does Jimmy John’s Have Vegetarian Options?

The options available for vegetarians at Jimmy John’s are more or less the same as vegan, with just a few exceptions. Vegetarians can eat Jimmy John’s 9-Grain Bread, Salt & Vinegar Chips, and Creole Pepper Sauce, but vegans can’t.

All in all, Jimmy John’s cannot be classified as a vegetarian-friendly place either.

Interested to learn how vegan-friendly other popular fast-food chain restaurants are? Read my article entitled “Is Jack in the Box Vegan-Friendly?” for a full breakdown of the restaurant’s vegan menu.

Photo of author
Author Bio
Im Emma and I’m the creator of Vegan Calm. When I became a vegan seven years ago, I mainly did it for health and ethical reasons. To my surprise, it had another amazing benefit; I became a much calmer and peaceful person. This change inspired me to create Vegan Calm. Whether you’ve been a vegan for a long time or just want to learn more, this website will have something for you!

Check Out These Posts:

Are Glazed Donuts Vegan
Are Mission Flour Tortillas Vegan
Are Fruit Snacks Vegan

Leave a Comment