Nothing screams deliciousness and comfort like a pizza straight out of the oven.
However, you don’t always get to enjoy pipin’ hot pizza, especially if you prefer to bring or get it delivered to your home. This is where Papa Murphy’s come in.
The one-of-a-kind take-and-bake pizza company allows pizza lovers to enjoy sizzling hot pizzas every time.
But is Papa Murphy’s vegan-friendly? Does Papa Murphy’s have vegan pizza? Let’s find out today…
Is There Anything Vegan at Papa Murphy’s?
Papa Murphy’s doesn’t have any vegan pizza options on its menu. However, it does offer two vegetarian pizzas that can be made vegan with a few modifications. The best part? The restaurant also allows its customers to get their own customized vegan pizza made.
Vegan options at Papa Murphy’s include:
- Garden Veggie Pizza – without the cheese
- Garden Salad
- Mediterranean Salad
- Create-Your-Own Vegan Pizza
Wondering what modifications you need to make in Gourmet Vegetarian Pizza to make it vegan?
What options do you have to create your own vegan pizza at Papa Murphy’s? Keep reading to get answers to all your questions about how to order vegan at Papa Murphy’s.
Papa Murphy’s Vegan Options – How to Eat Vegan at Papa Murphy’s?
When eating at Papa Murphy’s, you can get the following items modified according to your vegan dietary guidelines:
§ Garden Veggie Pizza
Papa Murphey’s Garden veggie Pizza is made with Original pizza crust, traditional tomato sauce, a variety of vegetable toppings, and mozzarella cheese. All the components, except cheese, are vegan.
For those who prefer to read labels (most vegans are used to doing it), here are the ingredient lists for all Garden Veggie pizza components, as given on Papa Murphy’s website.
Papa Murphy’s original crust ingredients include:
The ingredients for the Original crust are a little different in California. However, it still meets the vegan dietary guidelines.
Papa Murphy’s traditional pizza sauce ingredients are as follows:
To get your Papa Murphey’s Garden Veggie pizza made vegan, ask to hold the cheese. Sadly, the pizza restaurant doesn’t offer any vegan cheese options. But, Papa Murphey’s takes ‘n’ bake, so you can always top your veggie pizza with your own vegan cheese before popping it into the oven.
Some online sources also suggest that you can get Papa Murphey’s Gourmet Vegetarian pizza customized to your vegan diet as well.
However, it requires multiple modifications, which is an unnecessary hassle when you can order a veggie pizza or a customized vegan pizza.
If you choose to go with Gourmet Vegetarian pizza; you will have to replace the Creamy Garlic sauce with a vegan sauce and hold the herb and cheese blend and remove cheese.
§ Garden Salad
Although Papa Murphy’s is known for its pizzas, health-conscious vegans can also get a vegan salad here. The options, however, are limited. Your first option is a Garden Salad without the cheese.
Garden Salad at Papa Murphy’s originally comes with two types of cheese – Cheddar and Mozzarella. But, they are not available in vegan varieties, so you have to skip them. You will be left with a salad mix containing Roma tomatoes, romaine lettuce, black olives, and green bell peppers.
§ Mediterranean Salad
Papa Murphy’s Mediterranean Salad can also be made vegan by skipping on feta cheese that it originally comes with. Vegetables it contains are romaine lettuce, spinach, sun-dried tomatoes, black olives, and onion mix (containing red, yellow, and green onions).
Unfortunately, you cannot get vegan salad dressing at Papa Murphy’s. All their salad dressings contain milk or egg. It may come as a surprise to many, but even their balsamic vinaigrette contains milk.
So, you’ll either have to eat your Papa Murphy’s vegan salad without dressing or add your own dressing to it.
How to Order a Customized Vegan Pizza at Papa Murphy’s?
Did you know that there are 34 million pizza combinations possible? Why compromise on your pizza when you have the option to get one made just how you like it?
Papa Murphey’s allow you to create your own pizza to provide you the best vegan pizza experience. Here’s how you can go about it.
Step 1 – Choose Your Crust
There are four vegan pizza crust options at Papa Murphy’s:
- Original Crust
- Thin Crust
- Fresh Pan Crust
- Stuffed Crust
It’s important to note here that the Fresh Pan crust is described as ‘buttery’ on Papa Murphey’s website, but it doesn’t contain any butter. Instead, it uses a butter alternative made of soybean oil.
Similarly, Papa Murphy’s stuffed crust doesn’t contain cheese; it’s just double-layered original crust.
Here are ingredients lists for all of Papa Murphey’s vegan pizza crusts for your convenience:
Step 2 – Choose Pizza Sauce
Add flavor to your favorite pizza crust with any of the following vegan-friendly sauces available at Papa Murphy’s:
- Pizza Sauce (Original)
- Marinara Sauce
- BBQ Sauce
- Sweet Chili Sauce
- Olive Oil & Garlic
- Burger Sauce – only available at selected locations
Step 3 – Choose Your Toppings
You can top your pizza with the following vegan toppings at Papa Murphy’s:
- Artichoke Hearts
- Black Olives
- Green Olives
- Banana Peppers
- Green Peppers
- Green Onions
- Mixed Onions
- Sun-Dried Tomatoes
- Chopped Garlic
- Green Chili
- Zesty Herbs
- Olive Oil
- Chili Pepper Flakes
In September 2020, Happy Little Plants, a new plant-based brand owned by Hormel, announced that they will be partnering with Papa Murphy’s to bring vegan pepperoni pizza to Papa Murphy’s customers.
However, this plant-based pepperoni is only available at selected Papa Murphy’s locations. The next time you’re ordering vegan from Papa Murphy’s, do ask if they have vegan pepperoni.
Need more help with ordering a vegan pizza from Papa Murphy’s? Check out the following video…
Does Papa Murphy’s Offer Vegan Beverages?
Papa Murphy’s doesn’t offer any interesting vegan beverage options. You only have a few drinks choices to pair your meal with. These include:
- Mountain Dew
- Sierra Mist
- Mug Root Beer
What about Desserts? Does Papa Murphy’s Have Vegan Desserts?
Bad news for vegans with a sweet tooth! Papa Murphy’s doesn’t offer any vegan desserts. All their desserts contain milk and/or egg, so you’ll have to find another place to satisfy your sweet tooth.
The Sum Up – Is Papa Murphy’s Vegan Friendly?
Papa Murphy’s isn’t the most vegan-friendly restaurant. However, if you want to enjoy a good vegan pizza, the place will not disappoint you.
The only downside of Papa Murphy’s is that it doesn’t offer any vegan cheese, so you will have to top your pizza with your own vegan cheese.
Frequently Asked Questions
Have more questions about Papa Murphy’s menu? Check out the commonly asked questions below to get all your queries answered and your concerns resolved.
§ Does Papa Murphy’s offer vegan appetizers?
Sadly, Papa Murphy’s doesn’t offer any vegan appetizer option, so you’ll have to do with an appetizer or order from somewhere else.
§ Is Papa Murphy’s pizza dough vegan?
All of Papa Murphy’s pizza crusts are vegan, except the gluten-free one. It contains egg whites.
§ Is Papa Murphy’s stuffed crust vegan?
Yes. Papa Murphy’s stuffed crust is vegan. Unlike other pizza restaurants, Papa Murphy’s doesn’t add cheese to their stuffed crust; it’s just two layers of their original pizza crust.
§ Does Papa Murphy’s have vegan cheese?
Papa Murphy’s does not have vegan cheese. If you like cheese (who doesn’t like cheese on pizza?), you’ll have to add your own vegan cheese before baking Papa Murphy’s veggie pizza.
§ Is Papa Murphy’s creamy garlic sauce vegan?
As the name suggests, Papa Murphy’s creamy garlic sauce ingredients contain both milk and egg. Hence, it’s non-vegan. If you like the garlic-y flavor on your pizza, you can choose their Olive Oil & garlic sauce. That is vegan.
§ Does Papa Murphy’s have vegan pepperoni?
Papa Murphy introduced vegan pepperoni for its plant-eating customers in September 2020. However, Papa Murphy’s vegan pepperoni is only available at selected locations. Ask your local Papa Murphy’s if they offer plant-based pepperoni.
§ What is on Papa Murphy’s Gourmet Vegetarian pizza?
Papa Murphy’s Gourmet Vegetarian pizza is made with original crust, creamy garlic sauce, artichoke hearts, Roma tomatoes, zucchini, mushrooms, onion mix, spinach, mozzarella, topping cheese, and herb and cheese blend. Out of these, cheese, herb and cheese blend, and creamy garlic sauce are non-vegan.
§ Is Papa Murphy’s cinnamon wheel vegan?
According to Papa Murphy’s allergen tracker, their cinnamon wheel contains multiple non-vegan (dairy) ingredients. It is not vegan-friendly.
If you found this article helpful, you will also like Dairy Queen Vegan Options. Give it a read to find out what the fast-food restaurant has for its vegan customers.